Archive | 12:00 am

Update: Heart Monitor Implant, Walking Pneumonia … 

3 Jun


Loop Recorder 

I’m getting my heart monitor known as a loop recorder procedure on June 14th. I had the 2 week Zio monitor recently but as soon as I took it off I had the episode. So this loop recorder will be implanted under my skin and record my heart for 3 years. We are hoping to catch any arythmia or abnormalities (or more like catch nothing). If there is no arythmia in the next 3 years my cardiologist says it’s more likely a neurological issue. The implant involves a shot of lidocaine to the chest area I believe and they cut a small incision and inject the loop recorder under the skin, near the heart. 

Walking Pneumnoia 

After suffering from a normal illness/lung infection for a week I suddenly had 104 fever and was hallucinating. I couldn’t talk, walk, see…. so my mom took me to a walk in prompt care where my doctor diagnosed me with what he thought was “bronchitis or walking pneumonia”. He gave me antibiotics but it was the family of abx that causes my restless leg syndrome to be much worse so I didn’t sleep for a week. He then switched me to Z-Pack (Zithromax) that was much better for my restless leg syndrome (RLS). I’m finally feeling a bit better getting the infection out of my lungs and no longer coughing or having low oxygen issues. For some reason at the doctors my Oxygen was going from 81%-86% which is crazy low but I think maybe the surgical mask I had on could have lowered my oxygen even worse? The walking pneumonia is getting better so back to my regular chronic illnesses and symptoms. The only difference I notice with the flu or pneumonia is the wet cough, colored phlegm, and higher fever than my usual daily fever. The other symptoms I already have daily so don’t really notice the change or notice when I am getting “normal people sick”. My temperature normally runs 94-95 degrees during the day and 100 degrees at night until usually 4-6am when I fall asleep. 

Neurologist Visit 

Saw my neurologist today. He wants to try and get me back on something for restless leg syndrome. I’ve tried many meds in the past like Lyrica but they made me gain weight and dizzier than usual. So I’m not sure which Med he’s giving me. He’s doing a sleep study on me soon with a pulseOx at home. I will also be getting more MRI updates on my C-Spine (neck), mid back and lumbar. He wants a brain scan but I just had one done two months ago. He’s trying to keep me from being “spastic”. So far the Keppra seems to be helping the myoclonic seizures. The heat of summer always makes me more exhausted than usual or dizzy so I just want to sleep all day. Lupus and the sun don’t mix so I don’t usually go out back I just stay on the couch or in bed. 
Hopefully things will start to get better. Like usual whe it rains it pours around our house. A lot of bad things going on and just trying to stay positive. Got to keep in mind it can be worse. Keep up the fight everyone!