I Finally Have A PCP – First Visit Went Well 

29 Oct


For many years now I’ve had trouble finding a Primary Doctor. My doctors I’ve had since I was a teen said they would no longer be my doctor because I was “too complicated” for them and they didn’t know how to help me. One doctor told me he was leaving me because he doesn’t like the fact I use medical marijuana. Every new a doctor appointment resulted in a failure. Most doctors told me they do not believe in Lyme disease or lupus and told me they will not be my doctor. 

After a long search my mom found a primary doctor who believes in Lyme and secretly will help me. He doesn’t take new patients so I was lucky to know somebody. This doctor also wants to use life-long oral antibiotic pulsing on me since he knows my Lyme is resistant to all treatments and my body won’t allow healing due to my primary immunodeficicey. 

My first visit was great! He is a very caring, compassionate doctor and I can tell he wants to help. He even said there was no need for me t travel so far to see my other Lyme doc or go to pain management that he will handle my RX for pain meds. He normally doesn’t prescribe pain meds I’m told so he did that just for me, what a great guy. He knows I’ve been on them since I was an early teen with arthritis and degenerative disc disease and bad knees. 

It was such a relief to see him input all my illnesses in his records without questioning me or my previous doctors or test results/records. He kept saying “oh my gosh you have that as well you have so many bad things going on at once that’s horrible”. He was really nice and my mom and I nearly teared up when he left the room because we are used to being yelled at, belittled and sent home without a new doctor. So this was a first. 

9 Responses to “I Finally Have A PCP – First Visit Went Well ”

  1. lil ben October 29, 2016 at 8:10 pm #

    Thats a cool doc ..i need one too…have you considered bvt it helps with pain too

    • 49er Bryan October 30, 2016 at 11:31 pm #

      I’ve considered it but with RSD the stings may be a lot worse than a normal person’s skin. I’m allergic to yellow jackets and wasps but not sure about honey bees now.

  2. Elizabeth October 30, 2016 at 3:19 am #

    I am so happy for you!!!!

  3. Marjorie Morton Krull October 30, 2016 at 7:13 am #

    I am so happy for you. I had Lyme Disease for 24 years before I was diagnosed. It was diagnosed in 2002 by a primary care doctor recommended by a man that worked for my husband. While listening to me review my medical history, Dr. G. asked if I had been tested for Lyme disease. To make a long story short, he was the first doctor to really listen to me and use appropriate testing. I have been so fortunate to have a primary care doctor with an open and caring mind…taking care of my meds to help me cope and being in touch with ongoing research. Best of luck to you.

    • 49er Bryan October 30, 2016 at 11:29 pm #

      Thank you, yeah I was undiagnosed for 28 years and told I likely had HIV by all my primary doctors. My aunt who has had Lyme for 20 years asked me to go see her Lyme doctor and I was finally diagnosed by them and then my PCP and neuro surgeon. Nobody looks at the big picture or puts all the symptoms/illnesses together. Glad you found someone who gets you.

  4. Brian October 30, 2016 at 2:52 pm #

    Bryan, that’s good news. Helps to have a doctor that listens to you and not afraid to Rx. Still sick, hope we have better days ahead.

    Best,

    ~B

    • 49er Bryan October 30, 2016 at 11:26 pm #

      Thank you. Good to hear from you, I’m sorry things aren’t better. Just keep hanging in there, things will get better for us. What is your current treatment?

  5. mjcunningham November 5, 2016 at 7:56 am #

    I’m so glad you found somebody to help you. I had Lyme disease also. But I have been clean of it for 2 years. God told me how to cure myself and it worked. Not sure it would work for everybody. Everyone’s body chemistry is different. But I am so grateful. I hope things move forward for you. Lyme disease is so complicated and hard to get rid of. So many different facets you have to be working on at the same time. Everyone thinks they have the answer LOL. I will send my prayers your way.

Leave a Reply

