Easy Chicken & Beef Gravy With More Flavor 

21 Mar

  

Chicken/Beef Gravy 

Simple recipe called for 

2 tbs butter 

2 tbs flour 

1 cup chicken broth 

I like to tweak things and try different things to my taste. So I added a few things and it gave the quick gravy a kick of flavor. 


2 tbs Butter 

2 tbs Flour 

1/2 cup chicken stock 

1/2 beef stock 

2 tbs of sour cream (or heavy cream) 

1/4 small yellow onion minced 

1 small clove of garlic minced 

Salt 

Pepper 

In a heated sauce pan add the minced onion and garlic and use a wooden spoon to stir around for a few minutes. Add the butter to the pan and scrape the flavor off the bottom of the pan and mix in with the butter. Cook a few minutes until butter is bubbling (don’t let it brown), now add the flour. Cook a few more minutes until the rue starts to turn a light brown color. Add some salt and pepper. Now add the chicken and beef broth and sour cream and let the mixture start to bubble. Turn down the heat and let the gravy simmer until it thickens and turns a nice light brown color. 

With my illnesses and the pain I’m in I wish I could be more precise but it did turn pretty good and more flavor than the simple recipe I always use. I used the gravy over homemade garlic mashed potatoes. Good luck 

Leave a Reply

