I Collapsed & Hit My Head & C-Spine 

17 Mar

  

(Not me in picture, stock photo) 

Over a week ago I was doing my routine when I am able to leave my house or have energy and went to mail a letter down the street and grab a steak sandwich at the deli on the first floor of my apartment. My heart has been acting up and my POTS. I walked maybe a half block to the mailbox. I arrived at the deli/store and ordered my usual sandwich the lady makes for me when I can’t cook my own food. All of the sudden I felt cold sweat, tingling in my arms so I sat on the ground. My arms got really numb, sweat turned hot, legs were tingling, & started to get tunnel vision. People walking by said “you don’t look good are you okay” but I couldn’t really answer them or make a sentence. 

I laid down on the dirty floor for a minute because with my POTS sitting doesn’t help I need to be in the fetal position. The lady said I looked “dead” so I looked into my phone camera and I was pale white with no color at all and black under my eyes I did look like a corpse. After 15 minutes my sandwich was ready and I felt just a bit better. I stood up to pay for my food and handed the lady a $20 (I hope) next thing I remember I heard a loud “THUMP”, and heard a lady screaming “omg I call 911 you not okay” and I woke up a minute later with candy laying all over me and my head against the wall and body flat on the floor. Clerk said I hit my head and neck on the fall when I passed out. 

There was a time where I used to set off my PulseOx alarm daily and would pass out every time I stood up when I lived with my parents so I’m used to this. But normally I would fall on carpet or catch myself before I collapsed fully. This time I hit full on into metal, glass and tile flooring. My neck was killing me after the fall and is still sore. I have many ruptured discs, bulging discs in my neck. My neuro surgeon warned me never ever go on roller coaster, horseback , jet skis…..anything where I can jar my neck because I’m close to being paralysed or a quadrapelgic if I hit my neck just right. I have spinal stenosis, DDD, pinched nerves, disc issues, cysts, my spine is messed up from top to bottom and my spinal cord is being squeezed. So I was lucky I didn’t hurt myself too bad. 

I refused to ambulance because the ER wouldn’t have taken care of me and just sent me home like always. They always say my temp & vitals are the worst they ever seen but then send me home after one bad of saline even though I tell them I don’t feel any better and need to stay. After the hit I might have got another concussion because I slept for three days. My CFS was worse so I’m sleeping 16 hour days and not eating much. I have nobody to take care of me but myself right now and I’m not getting IVIG anymore. Everything is going wrong like my usual luck. I’m waiting for better days or for life to be nice to me. 

As far as my Lyme I’m taking antibiotics and starting back on Mepron for Babesia. My Lyme has been flaring and with my auto-immune and other issues I do feel like I’m dying again. I’m relaxing and resting on the couch all I can and watching tv. I don’t leave the house unless it’s for laundry or quick groceries. I hope my girl stops with the cold feet and will help me out soon. 
Hope you all are hanging in there! Let’s try to keep hope alive 

3 Responses to “I Collapsed & Hit My Head & C-Spine ”

  1. Mame March 17, 2016 at 11:55 pm #

    On your previous post, I commented that I would see if my doc knew anyone in your area. It didn’t seem like a good idea to wait till Tuesday, so I did a search based on the location Old Lyme, Connecticut. Here are the results. You can check the ratings on vitals.com or healthgrades.com . Hope this helps.

    http://acam.site-ym.com/search/newsearch.asp

  2. V Ross Johnson March 21, 2016 at 5:54 am #

    You poor thing! I cannot imagine what it would be like to not have anyone to help! You are very brave and obviously a lot stronger than you think! Hang in there!

Leave a Reply

