Drive Across The U.S. – Moved 

24 Jan

  
I just drove for the first time in 6 years and drove 3200+ miles to my new home on the East Coast. I am from Northern California & The Bay Area so it’s a huge change. I did live in Oregon for a year so I am used to light snow and negative 10 degrees. There was a huge storm just south of me on my journey but I have to tip my hat to the road crews for keeping the interstate clear of snow. 

I traveled through the following states and will give me pros and cons. There was snow from Utah to my new state near NY. I took I-70 to I-80. From Eastern Colorado to border of Pennsylvania there isn’t much to see but flat land and wildfowl. It took 5 days on this trip and I drive an average of 10-11 hours per day. I left at 11am each day and missed all the traffic in cities. It’s good to take a trip and refresh your mind. 

California – my home state 

Nevada – drove through at night not much to see 

Arizona – couldn’t find one hotel to stop at, very sparse on 70 

Utah – beautiful rocks. Stayed at new La Quinta in Saint George it was the best hotel 

Colorado – hotel was stinky & small, Rockies were nice but not Denver, liked Vail 

Nebraska – not much to see, cheap gas 

Iowa – flat and not much to see 

Illinois – flat not much to see. Gas $1.69 

Indiana – interstate toll was $8.00 from one end to other end of state 

Ohio – interstate till was $18.50 from one end of state to other. Cheapest gas $1.43  

Pennsylvania – mountains, starts to get beautiful, stayed in nice hotel in Debois 

New York – $1.50 bridge toll, beatiful scenery 

Connecticut – beautiful state, snow, trees…. 
Now I’m here with my girlfriend and hoping this works out. I want to start a family with her and marry her but we will see how this goes. 

12 Responses to “Drive Across The U.S. – Moved ”

  1. Christina January 24, 2016 at 8:32 pm #

    My prayers are with you. You have come such a long way and I thank you for keeping us in the loop of your journey through this illness. God Bless you.

  2. ReadBetweentheLyme January 25, 2016 at 2:42 am #

    Well it will be a huge change but its gorgeous up there! Enjoy!

    • 49er Bryan January 27, 2016 at 8:44 pm #

      Thanks, it’s a big change but I like the snow sometimes lol

  3. Susan January 25, 2016 at 2:50 pm #

    Wow, Bryan, We are giving you a standing ovation in our hearts and will continue to clap and cheer for you and your girlfriend through the upcoming days, months, and years of your lives. You are a courageous hero; a knight in shinging armor; a star. Phenomenal accomplishment!!!!

  4. Zilla January 26, 2016 at 11:59 am #

    Welcome to the Great American NorthEast! I am in NY state, not far from the western border of CT. If you have trouble finding a LLMD in CT, I can tell you where the ones in NY are that would be closest to you. You should be able to see my email address in your blog’s dashboard, but you can also get me through Twitter or comment at one of my blogs if you need something that I might be able to help with. Best wishes to you in your new home, I hope you will be happy there.

    • 49er Bryan January 27, 2016 at 8:40 pm #

      Thank you, I may take you up on that offer if I cant find one. I need someone to write triple scripts for morphine and norco. Last time I was here the doctor said “good luck finding anyone to write those”.

      • Zilla January 28, 2016 at 5:34 am #

        NY unfortunately has a very restrictive prescription drug law which has most of our doctors afraid to give effective pain medication to the people who need it. You might be better off with a doctor in CT for that, not sure how their drug laws are, though.

  5. BoiseSusan January 26, 2016 at 6:13 pm #

    Wow! Bryan, We are giving you a standing ovation in our hearts and will continue to clap and cheer for you and your girlfriend through these upcoming days, weeks, and months. You are a courageous hero; a knight in shining armor; a star. Phenomenal accomplishment!!!

    • 49er Bryan January 27, 2016 at 8:41 pm #

      Thank you Susan. I haven’t had Wi-Fi for a while so I haven’t checked my email address on my other device. Hope you and your family are doing well and not getting too much snow.

  6. mountainsongbird March 14, 2016 at 9:05 am #

    I’m glad you made the trip safely. Hope everything works out with your girlfriend. If you have any lymes flare-ups please consider artificial fever treatments as I have had friends with Lyme’s disease that are living Better Lives and off their medications because of this therapy. Best wishes to you!

Leave a Reply

