Ashley Olsen Battling Late Stage Lyme Disease

8 May

 

Not feeling well so I don’t have energy for a post but wanted to share that now Ashley Olsen has come out about her battle with Lyme and how she “thought she was dying”. One Article actually wrote the truth that late stage Lyme is “incurable”. Usually they write that with 2 weeks of antibiotics you are “cured” of Lyme which is a false statement. Latest stage Lyme disease is horrible and hard to treat, the Lyme is resistant to all medication on most lymies (like myself) so we take maintenance doses of meds to keep Lyme at bay. Most lymies have early stage yet assume they have late stage and are not sure the differences. Early stage if caught early can be easier to treat since the Lyme may not be in cyst or biofilm form. I hope Ashley will fight along with us all and the truth keeps surfacing. I’m rambling because I don’t feel well after tinidazole  which is a cyst buster. Have a great week lymies. Maybe Ashley and I can be friends or date lol. Getting my IVIG Wednesday. 

9 Responses to “Ashley Olsen Battling Late Stage Lyme Disease”

  1. Kristen May 9, 2015 at 2:08 am #

    Hi everybody, I’m a newbie on here. It’s so great to hear all of your stories, because it makes me feel better to know that I’m not alone.

    Thanks for your post about Ashley 49er Brian. Maybe between high profile people like her and Avril Lavigne it might catch someone’s eye and eventually cause us lymies to get more funding so they can find a cure for us. Wishful thinking I know.

    I have Neuro Lyme and have been having a really hard time. I contracted it along with lovely parasites and more than likely coinfections on my honeymoon in Mexico back in October and November and haven’t been able to work since.

    My dad passed away 20 days before my wedding, and then having all of those problems at the end of my honeymoon has felt almost too much at times. You can imagine that being newlyweds has been a little different for us… thank God I have an incredibly supportive husband. (You would have thought that all the margaritas in Mexico would have killed those little spoogies) ;o)

    It all started with my eye. I went from 20/20 vision to 20/200 overnight with unbelievable pain, so of course everyone was thinking optic neuritis and then here comes the lumbar puncture followed by an awesome spinal headache (the first of three lumbar punctures and a blood patch)

    That’s when I found out I had Lyme. My neurologist tested my serology and did a Western Blot and both were positive. My LLMD is sending my blood work to Igenix in California for a more specific Western Blot so he can treat me with the right antibiotics. It’s not covered by insurance, but it’ll definitely be worth it.

    The first round of Doxy didnt work. Right now I’m on a month of Minocycline and Flagyl. I just love herxing! :o/ I have to go on something stronger because I still have lots of tapeworms and roundworms and my Lyme pain really hasn’t changed…in fact it’s awful. My doc said that if this medicine doesn’t work, then we may have to turn to iv antibiotics.Good times.

    The brain fog is unbelievable and it makes me feel so stupid at times because not only do I get confused and blank out because I forget what words I’m trying to use, but I’m also having trouble reading and writing.(It’s taken me about 2 hrs to write this post,)

    .
    I’m having an upper GI endoscopy on Monday because I have a lot of pain and my stomach is distended. I’m also having back surgery in a week and a half that of course only accounts for 2-5% of disk herniations (L5-S1 far lateral microdiscectomy) ..thank you Lyme.

    I have to see an endocrinologist because my cortisol levels are so low and my doc is concerned about Addison’s disease on top of everything else. My blood panel also showed liver damage. Lyme sucks!

    In other news…Happy Lyme awareness month everyone! I’ve been handing out pins and bracelets to everybody I know. :o)

  2. Michael May 9, 2015 at 4:04 am #

    Found another chronic lyme sufferer right on my little street yesterday. She told me how she and her husband both got sick within a few weeks of each other and then got conflicting diagnosis. He apparently died (at 48) before being diagnosed and she was sick for years before her Lyme diagnosis, after the usual others, ie. Lupus, MS etc.. She told me she has been on antibiotics since 2009. We live in Vt. in the woods and hopefully we can at least commiserate and be a little less isolated. This disease ravages any social or family structure. We only hear about this if someone of significant social visibility is affected. Unfortunately those are becoming more common as well. Hope the Obama’s don’t get bit out on MV.

  3. Biran May 10, 2015 at 10:28 am #

    There was recently a singer (Avril Lavigne) diagnosed with Lyme that I saw in the front page of People magazine, so at least this disease is getting some press. She is pretty cute too (= ^ x ^ =)

    Hope everybody is feeling better.

    • 49er Bryan May 16, 2015 at 4:15 am #

      Yep I bought the magazine. Glad it’s coming out. Plus Ashley Olsen now. Hope you are having better days. Sub Q going well?

      • Brian May 17, 2015 at 9:31 am #

        IgG is great product but not a cure for neuro Lyme.

  4. Paula Shick May 11, 2015 at 5:41 pm #

    Even though I am a Steelers fan I so appreciate what you are doing for all of the lyme community. Have had it since 1972. Even if Ashley doesn’t want to date you she should at least sit with you if you are both on IF treatment at the same time.

    • 49er Bryan May 16, 2015 at 4:16 am #

      Thank you, I hope your Steelers have a great season.

  5. Shelley Peace May 15, 2015 at 11:02 am #

    My husband was bitten in 1999,but was diagnosed in 2005. We deal with Lyme ever day of our lives. It cost him his marriage and relationship with his child. Shortly after being diagnosed he ended up living in his truck or 3 years. He has been told by an M.D. that only horses and dogs could get Lyme. And since he is my husband and I love him I am his support and at times, his care giver. He amazes me every day with his ability to just push on. My prayers hold the Lyme community in the light of healing. Mrs. p.

    • 49er Bryan May 16, 2015 at 4:13 am #

      Thank you for sharing your story. You are a hero and a saint for finding him and loving him through his battle with Lyme disease. The world needs more people like you. Take care of him and I know he loves you with all his heart. Lyme is a tough battle so he can forget things or maybe at times have Lyme rage but you have to know its not him. Keep being a great wife. 🙂

Leave a Reply

