Tried A New Ninja Drink

8 Feb

IMG_3385

Update on my health: I’m having a rough time. Been more dehydrated than my usual chronic dehydration issue. Wish I could get fluids but I will wait for my nurse this week when I get my IVIG and get a 1000ml ringer. For me I have to have a drink in my hand at all times or I dry up. I have a table next to me that always has an average of 5-8 drinks on it at a time. It’s very important to hydrate but if you have chronic dehydration you know how dry and dehydrated we can get if we don’t keep drinking all day long. Can never feel hydrated or like we quench our thirst.

I’ve been taking Epsom baths and detoxing all I can. I’m taking Fluconazole so maybe that is helping dry me out also. I’ve been really exhausted but I have a project to work on for a 49ers player, it’s his birthday present from his wife. I do sports art edits to distract me from the pain and loneliness with being ill. Just been feeling a little worse than usual and my CFS is getting the best of me.

Making Juices

I’m having fun with my new Ninja mixer. I like to try different things and sometimes add everything fruit or veggie that is going bad. You can follow exact recipes to make it as healthy and nutritious as possible or just make one for fun with your favorite ingredients. I was recently told about the side effects of using raw Kale, spinach.. by a reader, thanks Posy! I was using a lot of raw kale in everything but it has oxalates in it so you want to read up on that and maybe change things around. You can read about the kale warning HERE.

Tonight I made a drink that I thought was very tasty so I will share the ingredients for those who may want to try it. I don’t have a name for it yet. Remember to try to always use the freshest ingredients if you can. These are all fresh below.

Pink Drink

1/2 to 3/4 Fuji Apple (peeled and chopped)
Blueberries (used a large hand full)
Raspberries (I used about 10)
Banana (I use banana in almost every drink gives it a better taste/texture)
Honey (teaspoon)
Cinnamon (sprinkle in)
Almond Milk
Vanilla Extract (drop or two)
Cashew Milk
Strawberry/Orange/Banana juice (not too much)

I try to get the ratio of fruit to liquid almost 50/50 or a little less liquid. You want the juice not to be too thick and pulpy and you want enough liquid so it drinks like a juice or smoothie. You can add yogurt, ice or more banana for a thicker smoothie. Maybe add some kefir too but this one was pretty smooth after I blended it.

As always I am thinking about you all and sending you all my best. Keep up the fight & don’t let your illness get the best of you. We are not defined by our illness. Make the best with what you have. The key to life and getting through each day is to think of all the things you have and not the things you do not have. Stay strong!

10 Responses to “Tried A New Ninja Drink”

  1. Posy February 9, 2015 at 5:25 am #

    Hi I have a thought….do you take Himalayan salt or a liquid mineral, I use Trace Minerals. Maybe it would help with your dehydration? It has helped me enormously with POTS/racing heart issues etc..
    I continue to love the green juices, I think somehow it’s making a big difference. At least you’re not getting buried in snow like we are!! Posy

    • 49er Bryan February 10, 2015 at 11:36 pm #

      I use the Himalayan pink salt I get from trader Joe’s. It with other items have helped my POTS and keep me from passing out so often. I also use trace minerals and E-Lyte water. You may want to try E-Lyte. Is is very salty but a cap full a day really helps. I think the green drinks are helping us in some way. glad you are feeling positive, we got this. Any good recipes you have you can share with me if you would like. My next one is watermelon cooler but have to figure out what else to use with it. The one in the Ninja book has fresh basil, watermelon and pear. Sounds good but I might like fresh mint in mine versus basil.

  2. Posy February 9, 2015 at 5:50 am #

    I got an email from Suzy Cohen for free access to the “healthy gut summit”. http://healthygutsummit.com
    Check it out!

    • Posy February 10, 2015 at 5:53 am #

      Turns out it’s not free, never mind…

      • Posy February 10, 2015 at 11:58 am #

        Well yes it is free for a limited time and then one can purchase the videos etc…

  3. Posy February 9, 2015 at 8:04 am #

    Hey, just came across this article which speaks to the oxalate issue I thought you might be interested in reading..
    http://www.townsendletter.com/Jan2015/green0115.html#.VNgQ3J7LXQE.facebook

    • 49er Bryan February 10, 2015 at 11:44 pm #

      Thanks, hope you are feeling much better.

  4. Brenda Hardison February 9, 2015 at 12:13 pm #

    Thank you for your comment, going through this, losing all the people you THOUGHT were friends when you were able to work and feeling totally alone, I have my husband who is struggling to take care of me and I have three dogs, a bunny and birds. I do not know what I would do without my dogs, although they are work, they keep my mind as sane as it can be right now.

    • Posy February 10, 2015 at 11:59 am #

      Brenda, I feel your pain, I’ve lost friends too, I think it’s really common. Thank god for our husbands!!

    • 49er Bryan February 10, 2015 at 11:39 pm #

      You’re welcome. We as spoonies know how lonely and isolating being ill can get so we can relate. I think all people suffering with an illness should look around on social media and find new friends with illnesses that can relate and understand and try to cut out the negative people in our lives. I’m glad you have your hubby and the 3 dogs to take care of you, they give you a reason to fight and something to look forward to each day. Have a better week.

Leave a Reply

