Gone In A Heartbeat: New Lyme Book About A Doctor Misdiagnosed

7 Feb

BookCover_GoneInAHeartbeat

** I was contacted and asked to post this story and share with my readers. I am not affiliated with the book or the sale of anything on my blog and I was not compensated or given a free book to read so I wish I could have given my honest opinion on the book (when I am even able to read). This is my personal journey but I do like to share relevant stories and help spread Lyme awareness when I can. This is a well-respected doctor and his story dealing with Lyme as even he was treated poorly by doctors when he his self is in fact a doctor. So it goes to show you that ANYONE with Lyme is being mistreated and misdiagnosed.

Gone in a Heartbeat

Dr. Neil Spector is a leading oncologist and researcher at Duke University Medical Center—and he’s a survivor of a misdiagnosed, nearly fatal illness and a miraculous heart transplant. Now he uncovers the true story of his shocking medical saga from a physician-scientist’s and insider’s perspective, revealing how he beat the odds and survived to help others in his new book, Gone in a Heartbeat (<- I linked it so you can view the book on Amazon or read more about it. I promise it’s not a special link where I make 10 cents for every click or purchase lol I just like to make my site convenient for my readers and lymie friendly).

Dr. Spector was in peak physical condition when he began experiencing bizarre symptoms, including cardiac arrhythmias, joint pain, a period of brain fog (mental cloudiness), and more. His doctors attributed it to stress, but Spector (a physician-scientist himself) suspected he had a serious underlying medical condition, possibly Lyme disease, and fought within the medical system to find the cause—but years of inconclusive results, lack of a diagnosis and no treatment resulted in irreparable heart damage.

After living 11 years with only 10% heart function, a series of life-threatening complications resulted in a terrifying free fall into florid heart failure, and a moment of emotional crisis where Spector, a loving husband and father, considered taking his own life. A former pillar of health, he was suddenly told he had 72 hours to live without a heart transplant.

He survived thanks to the love and support from his family, his unwavering faith and belief in miracles, and an emergency transplant. As a physician who prides himself on delivering “compassionate care” to his patients, he wants to ensure others stay protected as well.

Dr. Neil Spector, one of the nation’s top oncologists, led a charmed life. He was educated at prestigious universities, trained at top medical centers, and had married the woman of his dreams. It seemed too perfect. And it was in 1994, it all came crashing down. He and his wife lost two unborn children and a mysterious illness brought him to the brink of death. In his compelling memoir, ‘Gone in a Heartbeat’, Dr. Spector describes in great detail how he was misdiagnosed and despite being a medical insider, was often discounted as having stress-related problems by his fellow physicians.

As he recounts his own personalized approach to medicine and physician/patient relationships, Dr. Spector encourages readers to never surrender their power to a third party. He tells of courageous patients who served as role models, he concedes that doctors do a disservice to patients when “we treat them like statistics,” and he advocates for educated patients who can make informed decisions collaboratively and not simply follow instructions. In Dr. Spector’s words: “To recognize that we are in control of our own bodies and destinies can be a powerful step toward true healing.”

111006_spector_neil_hiresAuthorPhoto2_NeilSpector

5 Responses to “Gone In A Heartbeat: New Lyme Book About A Doctor Misdiagnosed”

  1. Brenda Hardison February 7, 2015 at 5:12 pm #

    Can not thank you enough for sending this. I wished I could speak with this doctor. I have been pushed aside in every office I had walked into, was told by my own dr he was sure I had it, but I knew he must have been taking flack himself for trying to help patients and even stating they have it. He was right, unknown to him I pulled a black legged tick out of my head after it being in there for approx. 15 hours as I felt something crawling on me, and then nothing until I found it in my head in the shower the next morning. Since then, my life has gone to hell and the suffering is unbearable. The thoughts going through your head, the crying, everything. I can’t believe this has even happened to me.

  2. george georgiadis August 11, 2015 at 2:02 pm #

    I have lyme and I can’t walk anymore, I was in the hospital for 3 weeks after a grand mal sezure that left me paralysed, doctors don’t believe lyme caused lesions in my brain, I need to get help, I have 5 young kids and a wife who needs me, please help.

    • 49er Bryan August 11, 2015 at 4:40 pm #

      Have you found a good Lyme doctor yet? I was in a wheelchair for a while and had seizures but I’m walking again and no seizures since. I think antibiotics like monocycle helped the most, they help the Lyme in the brain. Hope you can find help

  3. Donna Nelson August 17, 2016 at 12:02 pm #

    Thanks for writing this book and I look forward to reading it. I have Lyme and have been really sick for going on 3 years, I am lookin for answers and the best I have come up with so far is the book Medical Medium .
    Happy Trails, Doonna Nelson
    giraffe3productions@yahoo.com

Leave a Reply

