Making Juices With My Nutri Ninja

31 Jan

IMG_3016

Making Drinks

I’m not a nutritionist (although I’ve taken courses) but I just wanted to share some tips and general recipes I use for healthier drinks. I like to drink a ton of water, tea, kombucha with my illnesses. I cut out soda, sugar and caffeinated drinks. Recently I added a Nutri Ninja blender to make my own juices that I normally buy at Jamba Juice or the store. The blender is great, I recommend one but it is very noisy so plug your ears. I will post a couple of my juicing favorites below.

Remember when you make a drink to use fresh ingredients to get the most nutrition and health benefits. You can use frozen but go fresh when available. Remember that many fruits have natural sugars in them and that you can get many vitamins in the drink so be aware of the supplements you are using. Below I will list the general ingredients I use in my juices but I don’t have an exact measurement of how much to put in since each Ninja blender cup is a different size. I use the large size cup most of the time. Add or subtract things for a taste you prefer. I peel and chop most ingredients into small cubes.

Garden Green Drink

Kale (wash thoroughly)
Cucumber (peeled)
Celery (peeled)
Green Apple (I took the peel off it upsets my stomach)
Spinach
Ginger (peeled, a little packs a punch)
Lemon juice
Pink Himalayan Salt
Water or Carrot juice

Strawberry, Blueberry, Banana Smoothie

Strawberries
Blueberries
Banana
Almond Milk (I use vanilla flavor)
Ice
Kale (only a small piece)
Honey

If you have a juicer have fun creating your own favorite drinks. You can use soy milk, almond milk, cashew milk rice milk, coconut water…etc you can make it to fit your diet and your needs. You can add cashews or other nuts for flavor. You can add flax seed, chia seeds, protein powders to add a boost to the drinks. Add ice, yogurt, milk or frozen fruit to make it more of a smoothie but I find adding bananas makes it a nice thick smoothie type consistency. You can find a lot of information online with exact recipes but the blender comes with a recipe book for drinks for men and women. Have a great weekend Spoonie family.

15 Responses to “Making Juices With My Nutri Ninja”

  1. Posy January 31, 2015 at 6:12 am #

    Hi, clearer head today…its oxalic acid in kale that will mess with your thyroid. Two ways to deal, blanch or lightly cook the kale before adding to your smoothie or adding a small amount of magnesium to the drink to chelate it… Then there is also an issue with spinach, not sure but it may have to do with histamines which I have a problem with…the source of my migraines!!! (I have managed to get rid of them after years of torture) Anyway as I said before, although I know it’s the wrong time of year and raw fresh juice is considered to yin for winter consumption (I live in NH) I got a juicer for Christmas and not waiting until spring to use!! Hard to put my finger on it but it’s making a difference. I could never eat as much green veggies, it just has to be good!! The premade juice concoctions are loaded with the most amazing amount of sugar and sugar drives pain for me. At first I felt quite a bit worse when I started juicing, wondered if I was getting too much sugar but things have settled down and I think I was actually detoxing. This seems to be the best way for me to easily raise my consumption of veggies and enjoy it. I’ve experimented with mixing ground nuts and so forth with the pulp to make crackers, more work to be done but great potential!
    The tone of your posts has changed and it’s heartening to see that you seem more upbeat or feeling better? Sure hope so, it’s an awful roller coaster ride we’re all on. Oh on the oral care topic, it’s kind of a pain but you might try oil pulling with coconut oil when you first wake up. Swish a small amount of c oil in your mouth for ten minutes or so, it will help your teeth and gums a lot. Be sure to dispose in the trash not down your drains/toilet, will clog the works. Keep up the good work! Posy

    • Posy January 31, 2015 at 6:39 am #

      Here’s a link that addresses oxalates etc, the list is long! I’ve been juicing a lot of collard greens.., always something!! But I just think if you are aware of a potential stumbling block then you can avoid it. The bottom line, everything in moderation. I tend to go overboard with things I perceive as “good” for me…
      Here’s a post from Dave Asprey with whom I hold deep respect for..,he’s done his homework.
      https://www.bulletproofexec.com/the-kale-shake-is-awesome-so-upgrade-it/

      • 49er Bryan February 1, 2015 at 1:42 am #

        Awesome thank you! I thought I was doing myself some good and here I am slowing my thyroid and adding a lot of oxalates. I think I may cut the kale out and just try other ingredients.

  2. Posy January 31, 2015 at 6:45 am #

    PS I can feel my body responding to the juice in such a deeply positive way, Dave’s point that if one overdoes it then your body may reach a tipping point when you are unable to clear it and that’s what we/I want to avoid.

    • 49er Bryan February 1, 2015 at 1:43 am #

      That’s good. Hope you got rid of the regular people sickness? that was you I think? I have a cold now too plus it’s been really rough.

    • 49er Bryan February 1, 2015 at 1:46 am #

      Oh and I am not feeling any better I just write these blogs on my ipad throughout the days or weeks and when my meds kick in. I was actually having a very rough night when I posted, maybe a herx but I post or write to distract me. It was a near ER kind of night but I how bad they treat me so I stay home. Do you have a blog or page to read your journey or are you on Instagram? I forget.

      • Posy February 19, 2015 at 6:36 am #

        No I don’t have a blog..generally my motivation is just too low. I think it could turn into yet one more thing I try to do and don’t; turning to major guilt and then self-loathing! I should do something because after 6 years of reading reading reading I think I do have something to offer.
        Recently I realized that I am feeling a tremendous sense of failure having not been able to get well. My husband thinks I shouldn’t feel this way because he sees first hand how hard I try, all the stuff I do, all the yummy foods I deprive myself of and how much I suffer. Do you know what I mean? Do you feel it too?
        On the juice, this is what I’ve settled on with small variations, (listed large to smaller quantities) cucumber, romaine lettuce, green beans, carrot, beet, parsley, celery, lemon/lime, fresh org. turmeric and ginger. Sometimes fruit but sugar = pain! Somewhere I wrote down a “recipe” to share.. I am not blending but juicing. I have a terrible blender and have been trying to decide on which blender to buy..
        Hang in there, go outside, and sit in the sun for me, ok? Stick your bare feet in the dirt too! In NH we’ve had over 8′ of snow and the temp was 1 degree Fahrenheit this morning. Must plan a trip to sunny CA!!

      • 49er Bryan February 20, 2015 at 1:03 am #

        I know what you mean. This blog I didn’t think I could do but it is the only thing besides art that I do daily to keep me distracted. Other than that I just sit in my chair watching tv. What I do is use notes on my ipad and write down my thoughts or blog post over days-weeks and post when it is done. There is a wordpress app on the ipad that makes it easy to post in minutes. I literally have no energy and I’m so exhausted from my CFS I fall alseep standing up but I think this blog has brought me a lot of new friends and helped many. So maybe you can start one soon and put your thoughts on the internet and gain a following. I am allergic to the sun but I went out for a few minutes for you. Made me very sleepy an dizzier but it was nice and warm today. I can only handle about 5 minutes of sun (lupus). You should get the ninja blender it’s great.

  3. Posy January 31, 2015 at 6:58 am #

    PSPS, just came across an email with this link I thought i would share. hmmmm, looks very interesting. Wonder if it works?! http://suzycohen.com/articles/reducepain/

  4. Posy February 19, 2015 at 6:47 am #

    I wanted to share an image with you but I can’t figure out how to post a photograph on your blog….maybe I’m being particularly numb today!

    • 49er Bryan February 20, 2015 at 12:57 am #

      You can find my email address in the about me section or write me at lymebry at gmail dot com (I didn’t put the email address since spammers and bots will steal it). feel free to email me at that address, thanks.

  5. Posy March 7, 2015 at 7:44 am #

    Hi Bryan, we’ve made reservations to fly to CA very soon, staying two weeks!! Travel is tough on me, food, allergies, general energy issues but on the other hand it makes me feel better because of the constant distraction, not to mention beautiful weather! We are flying into LA and then heading up to visit family in Santa Barbara. So excited! I’ve been limping along, pondering going to a clinic in Germany for hyperthermia treatment..pretty scary sounding but they’ve had very good success. Very expensive (of course) but I want so desperately to get my life back on track. (I know you can relate!!!) We’ll see.. Thank you for all the suggestions about starting a blog, you’re right about things like that helping, I’m just so tired and complacent all the time. It’s so hard just to keep up with the requirements of maintaining things, like food shopping, cooking, bill paying etc..managing health, taking a gazillion supplements etc etc.
    Don’t give up hope! Best to you Posy

    • 49er Bryan March 11, 2015 at 12:30 am #

      I hope you have a great time in Cali! The weather has been perfect. I have a friend who says she is 100% symptom free after going to Germany but she wa only bitten and treated right after so it wasn’t even early stage lyme yet and she had very few symptoms…yet another friend who is late-stage (with seizures) who is now a quadriplegic from getting care in Germany. So be careful. She said they treated her like crap and then sent her to a hospice home since they said “she didn’t have lyme after all” but she does she has positive tests. I hope you can get your blog going it will help get things off your chest (if you open up to the public) and you will keep a journal which you will go back and read years later and say “I wrote this? I remember this or that..”. It’s great if you have LT and ST memory loss like me so you can go back and look things up you cannot remember, that was one of the main reasons I started the blog until I realized I was helping so many people from around the world. I get people from Iraq, Africa…etc looking up lyme symptoms. I feel like if I can reach one person in every country then I am doing something positive and helping others which makes me happy. You can do the same. People love recipes so maybe you can post some health tips and recipes. Plus I meet a lot of great people like you! Thank you for always commenting even if I don’t get back I do read them all. It is very hard to do anything but with your blog wordpress and other blogs have apps for your phone to make it easy to post from anywhere. Easy to add pics or links… you can customize your blogs look on our computer to make it reflect you. I think you will like it and I am always here to help and give you tips. Each day when you have a slight bit of energy go into notes on your phone or computer and start writing what is on your mind. Then when you have enough words or paragraphs look at what the theme of your post is and that will be your title. You can spend weeks writing a blog post because there are no deadlines. Your blog will help you rech others and get your message out there. Good luck!!

  6. Posy March 7, 2015 at 7:51 am #

    PS. I ordered and have been taking the enzymes as recommended by Suzie Cohen and they have made no difference in terms of my pain problem. Too bad, but I had to try. I ordered the Xymogen product. Recently I got a rowing machine and I’m trying to very slowly work my way up to a decent workout, but as you know it’s so hard!! I also got Dave Asprey’s Vibe Plate which I think is really excellent for lymphatic drainage etc. Trying all the time!! I still have faith we will recover!

    • 49er Bryan March 11, 2015 at 12:17 am #

      Have you tried ITIRES yet for lymph drain? Seemed to help mine go way down and i’ve had swollen lymphs since I was a kid. My doctors would always say “oh that means you have an infection currently but it will go away in a few days” but it never went away yet they never looked into that. I find that nothing helps me. My new doc swears that the Boswellia and Curcumin will relive all my pans and that I should only be on those instead of pain killers. With my morphine, norco, tylenol and the two supplements she mentioned I feel no relief at all. I feel no difference o the gluten free diet at all and the curcumin does nothing. We know our bodies better than they do but they don’t seem to believe on when we say something is not working. I have faith as well we will get better and have a better quality of life. Since I was 18 all i’ve ever wanted is to get married, buy a house, have kids and I will be content for life. I can’t find anyone who will give me the time of day in 10 years since my ex moved on (she couldn’t handle me being ill).

Leave a Reply

