Warning: If You Are Taking IV Ceftriaxone (Rocephin) Always Take Actigall

25 Jul

actigall-2

Warning: If You Are Taking IV Ceftriaxone (Rocephin) Always Take Actigall

I cannot stress this enough that if you are treating with infusions of Ceftriaxone (Rocephin) then make sure your doctor has you on Ursodiol (Actigall) with it. Your doctor will forget to tell you or give you some other product that usually doesn’t work. The reason you will need actigall with the rocephin is due to getting gall stones or losing your gallbladder most likely. I am no longer on rocephin infusions I did them a few years ago but not long enough to do damage that I know of.

I did my own studies on this subject and over the past 5 years I always saw other lymies saying “I just had my gallbladder taken out after being on IV rocephin”. I don’t mean one or two people but pretty much 80% of everyone that I saw/read who has been on infusions of rocephin. Most say the doctor neglected to give them actigall or gave them bull bile instead which isn’t as effective.

I posted on this maybe 2 years ago or three? Who knows when it was but I still stand by it no matter what studies may say. If you are given rocephin infusions ake sure you ask or remind your doctor you for sure need actigall (if your body can handle it). I hope this post will help somebody out there and spread awareness again. I hate seeing fellow spoonies suffer more than they should or being neglected.

 

Keep on swimming……

JustKeepSwimming

 

 

 

_____________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

 

 

 

 

6 Responses to “Warning: If You Are Taking IV Ceftriaxone (Rocephin) Always Take Actigall”

  1. bloggerlenny July 25, 2014 at 8:53 am #

    Solid advice. LLND has daughter taking the Ursodiol 2x/day along with her 4g of IV Ceftriaxone 3x/week.

  2. Ang Pro July 25, 2014 at 11:59 am #

    Hi Brian Thanks for keeping people informed. I am infusing rocephin; and I did have to ask my dr for actigall. Even though it was listed on his pre printed agenda.

    Also; your doing a great service with your blog.

    I refer everyone I know ; and strangers who are struggling with mysterious symptoms.

    Keep up your good work; it helps so many people.

    Hopefully that brings a little joy to you. I know it is hard for me to find joy with all this pain and illness.

    Reading your blog reminds me I am not as isolated and alone as I think.

    Thank you, Angie On Jul 25, 2014 2:39 AM, “Lyme Inside – Living with Late Stage Lyme

    • 49er Bryan July 29, 2014 at 1:17 am #

      Thank you so much. You are not alone we are all in this together. Hope you are having better days.

  3. Cari June 14, 2015 at 3:36 pm #

    I’m getting my gallbladder out on tues was only on rocephin for 4 weeks

    • 49er Bryan June 14, 2015 at 8:29 pm #

      Sorry to hear that. It’s all too common. Hope you do better without the gallbladder.

      • Cari June 15, 2015 at 6:46 am #

        Thank you I hope so too

Leave a Reply

