May Is Lyme Awareness Month & Quick Update

2 May

Wear greenMay Is Lyme Awareness Month & Quick Update

A little late with my campaign picture above I made but today was wear lime for lyme. As you may or may not know (no pun intended) May is lyme disease awareness month and many other illnesses like gatroparesis and lupus (which I have). Make sure you spread awareness and show your support. A couple years ago I had a story on the front page of my local paper warning people about tick season. It takes a lot of energy or spoons to help spread awareness but I think if we keep at it lyme will be taken more serious.

Update:

So on Easter we had my sister, a friend and kids over. I rarely leave the house, go in public or am around people due to my immune. So a day after Easter I started to feel sicker. One of them gave me a bug. I have a sore throat, lost my voice, fluid in lungs, darker colored mucus. I have been taking claratin and doxycycline for now and I am feeling a little better bug wise. As far as lyme and my illnesses still lots of pain and haven’t been doing so well. I try to keep up when I can.

 

I hope all of my readers are finding relief and better days. Keep up the fight!

 

 

 

 

___________________________________________________________________________

 

 

 

 

7 Responses to “May Is Lyme Awareness Month & Quick Update”

  1. Posy May 2, 2014 at 8:19 am #

    Hey Bry, so I want to report more on the pain/insomnia front… I ordered something called the Fisher Wallace Stimulator. Looks like a remote control from the eighties with two leads with round discs with sponges at the ends. I call it my home electroshock machine!! Anyhow you wet the sponges, don a headband, place the sponges just above your sideburns (I don’t have those 🙂 and turn on. For 20 minutes it delivers something like 4 millivolts. Feels prickly. Said to cause the brain to produce more dopamine and serotonin or something like that…anyway it is FDA approved for treatment of pain, insomnia, anxiety and depression. I can say that I’m now sleeping a solid 6-7 hrs, you know how huge that is! And my pain is way way down… They have a 60 day return policy so if it doesn’t work you can return it. The hitch is that it requires a prescription and it’s expensive, $700!! Supposedly some insurance covers- most likely to if it’s prescribed for pain… I have not yet ventured to try to get a reimbursement…
    Hope this helps!

    • 49er Bryan May 4, 2014 at 1:19 am #

      Thank you for this info Posy I will look it up and ask my doctor about it. I’m glad it is helping you and I hope you continue to improve. Hopefully medicare covers it. Hope you have a great weekend.

  2. Shelley M. White May 2, 2014 at 8:02 pm #

    Love this!

  3. Shelley M. White May 2, 2014 at 8:02 pm #

    Reblogged this on .

  4. Sonya Rose May 2, 2014 at 9:57 pm #

    You’re such a strong fighter. You amaze me each and every time. This monster cannot take away your spirit.

    It’s scary our immune system, how fragile that it can be. I turned pale white today. I didn’t know what to do, so I began to take my iron again. I can’t seem to remember everything. My oncologist says that I need to eat red meat, but I find that hard to do.

    I am supporting this Lyme Awareness month by being in our nation’s first art exhibit on Lyme disease called “Ticked Off Art Show: Understanding Lyme Disease Through Art” at Maple Grove Art Center in Minnesota. My artwork just arrived tonight by UPS and will hopefully, get to the gallery on the day of the exhibit.

    It is a juried visual art exhibit of artworks by artists who have had Lyme disease or currently afflicted by the Lyme disease or who know of someone with Lyme disease; and will begin a visual and narrative dialogue about Lyme disease through everyone’s artwork.

    I have esotropia and how many others out there have it, too, and are not aware that it maybe connected to Lyme disease? Well, there’s so many more symptoms, and I may have had this as a young kid already. I’ve had a lot of ups and downs with migraines, joint pain, fatigue… Eye problems, yes, but first time double vision caused by this disease … I just couldn’t heal from it and it led to cancer. Who is to say…the co-infection Bartonella maybe part to blame for breast cancer, too?

    Anyways, I called my artwork “Eye Imagine (a World as One)” – My wish to see one again: My wish for everyone, all sides, to come together and find better solutions to heal the chronically ill. The art is of Christ in the Universe, a sad and sunken in face.. He has his eyes closed, but the light from his heart is shining bright. I said what gets me through this disease is looking inward, to my faith… And I see Christ’s Love in so many around me. It’s why I’m hanging on…

    Comfort Hugs to you & your family… God bless~

    • 49er Bryan May 4, 2014 at 1:41 am #

      Hi Sonya, The turning pale can be from a reaction or blood flow. I get that from time to time and I got it from certain meds or injections such as bicillin. So taking iron or eating red meat might help. Maybe try some niacin and B12? I used to lay down and drink electrolyte water to make sure it wasn’t dehydration. I know another lymie with eye problems but hers are off center I forget the name. You may need to find a good lyme friendly optometrist.

      I think Lyme and the immune can cause all sorts of problems that just keep snowballing. As for the cancer have you checked your genetics such as MTHFR? I have the double mutation which makes me a bigger risk for leukemia and certain cancers. So I have to take a folate pill daily.

      I am happy that you are spreading awareness and I like what you are doing. I think it is important for us to have some sort of hobby or some passion towards something to help keep us going. I wish you much success with your art project. Keep up the good work and I hope you find better days and healing.

  5. Brian May 4, 2014 at 1:57 pm #

    Definitely doing better on my vitamin b complex after a few weeks of supplementation. Brain fog and sleep are better, but I still have gi issues, and the xifaxan is not helping. Since my gi issues are presenting a real concern, we are probably going to add anti-parasite agents at my next appointment, and hold off on the bicillin. All my parasite labs have been negative but my ND says parasite labs are “crap” quality. I’m not sure if organisms other than bacteria could’ve caused my positive SIBO lab.

Leave a Reply

