Blood Results – C4A, Folate, B12

9 Apr

 

C4a results

Blood Results – C4A, Folate, B12 …

I haven’t had a chance to go over my latest blood results with my LLMD yet but I have a phone appointment soon. I received these results today.

My C4a level is still high but I think it was much higher than this before. From what I read being low can mean Lupus or being high can mean lyme disease or chronic illness…. or your body is fighting off an infection or bug and your body is inflamed. I am not 100% sure yet until my doctor has a chance to explain these to me but just from what I have read on the Internet.

 

Complement C4-A is a protein that in humans is encoded by the C4A gene.[1]

This gene encodes the acidic form of complement factor 4, part of the classical activation pathway. The protein is expressed as a single chain precursor which is proteolytically cleaved into a trimer of alpha, beta, and gamma chains prior to secretion. The trimer provides a surface for interaction between the antigen-antibody complex and other complement components. The alpha chain may be cleaved to release C4 anaphylatoxin, a mediator of local inflammation. Deficiency of this protein is associated with systemic lupus erythematosus and type I diabetes mellitus

 

My folate level looks high but I have the double c677t MTHFR mutation where my body doesn’t do it’s job with the folate. I take a Folapro pill each day for this issue. I was very low in folate so this is good I guess but I don’t know if having higher folate causes any issues.

My B12 also looks surprisingly high when it was very low last time we checked it. I took B12 shots in my belly 2 years ago and since then I take one 1000 mcg chewable methyl B12 daily. I have zero energy and chronic fatigue syndrome so I am always exhausted. You think if it was higher I would have some energy.

Anyway I am not really sure what to make of these results just yet and  think I have a few other tests my doc will go over with  me soon. My testosterone levels were normal. I was in a long-distance relationship and before that I haven’t had much luck with dating and girls so I wouldn’t know about my libido. lol

 

I hope all of my fellow warriors have a much better flare-free week. Stay strong, stay humble and reach out to a friend today to make them smile it will make you feel better also. Start each day with a positive thought. You will get through the struggles you are going through it will just take time.

 

 

____________________________________________________________________________

 

9 Responses to “Blood Results – C4A, Folate, B12”

  1. sweetjolene April 9, 2014 at 2:37 am #

    I have really high b12 too even though I last had shots about 3 years ago! Very odd. ..x

    • 49er Bryan April 10, 2014 at 10:22 pm #

      Yeah that is odd when we needed the B12 an took it as an injection the numbers were low but years later our numbers are high.

  2. Posy Bass April 9, 2014 at 5:42 am #

    Hi, I had a high B12 result and my Dr said high B12 can cause fatigue etc…in my case I passed it off because I had taken supplements the morning the blood was drawn.

    Have you been catching Dana and Brent’s Lyme Less Live More? They are in the process of interviewing 12 people they feel have helped them along the way. I was blown away by Dave Aspey’s interview. He had Lyme, mold issues and weighed 300+ lbs. There’s a window of time when the interviews are free to watch and after that you can access them individually for $10.00, which includes the inview plus a long Q&A session. Dave’s site has many free podcasts on various subjects which are very informative… I highly recommend! There is a wealth of information there, for example I am on to a gizmo made by Fisher Wallace which reportedly helps with pain and insomnia among other things. It’s pricey but I think well worth it if it works! Plus they have a 60 day return policy, so why not try it? I am also going to submit it to my insurance co. You will need a prescription. I’ll let you know how it works.

    http://lymelesslivemore.com/speakers/dave-asprey/dave-asprey-qa-call-replay/

    Dave’s site is bulletproofexec.com

    http://www.fisherwallace.com/collections/all

    A local Lyme practitioner from around here is leaving for a position at Gordon institute, my Lymey friends are sunk but exciting for him! (I live in NH)

    My C4a is persistently high in the high 7000s and Tgf beta 1 as well. Recently our contractor discovered a problem area in our house which has been remediated. So maybe mold is playing a significant role for me..

    Thanks for posting. Despite the struggle we’re going through, life is a miracle and you will find your way! My best, Posy

    • 49er Bryan April 10, 2014 at 10:21 pm #

      Thank you for all of the info. I haven’t caught up on any of those lyme shows/podcasts. I will do some research on the things you mentioned. Yeag we are both high in the C4a and TGF so there is definitely something there it just makes me shake my head when a GP will say the blood work looks “fine”. Maybe I will see the NH doc around the office! I’m so exhausted but I hope you are staying strong. Have a great weekend!

  3. Brian April 9, 2014 at 10:00 am #

    Congrats on your c4a, mine was 25,000 last time I checked.

  4. SHERRY SMITH April 9, 2014 at 10:04 pm #

    Dear Bryan, Have been soo sick all week,,,,,,,,,have no dr’s and I barely can make it,,,,Im hanging on after 18 yrs,,,,,,,,,,,,love getting your letters……………God Bless you……..Sherry 🙂

    • 49er Bryan April 10, 2014 at 10:23 pm #

      I’m sorry, well I am wishing you all my best that you find a good doctor and someone to help you out. Stay strong and keep up the fight you got this far now keep going.

  5. Brian April 11, 2014 at 10:12 pm #

    My SIBO lab came back positive today. ^_^ So I’ll be starting a regimen of xyfaxin (rifaximin), neomycin, and erythromycin. Unfortunately I have to get prior auth for the xyfaxin, but I’m not expecting any trouble. I’m hoping to feel better with these abx. that excel at killing action in the intestines!!!

    • 49er Bryan April 11, 2014 at 11:32 pm #

      Sorry to hear that. I hope that combo will help you get rid of it quick. Let me know how it goes. best wishes

Leave a Reply

