Unhappy 31st Birthday Lyme

6 Apr

137743_TN_shadow

Unhappy 31st Birthday Lyme

This month is my “anniversary” or my Chronic Lyme Disease’ “birthday” of 31 years. Yep 31 years have passed so fast. I want to say unhappy birthday lyme and I hate you!! I have stage 3 or chronic neurological lyme disease. I was finally diagnosed 3 years ago. Having it so long and never being treated all that time this is why I often say “this is my case and may differ from yours” because in my case it is pretty much too old/late to get my lyme in remission but I will get there and try like hell to get there.

I will give you my story of how I got my lyme again for newer readers. Back in the early 1980’s I was a little bowl-cut blonde boy running around looking for bugs and lizards. My dad took me one day to go searching for frogs and lizards in Pinole, California. We walked through the tall grass fields and were out there for hours. We went home and there I sat watching TV, eating dinner…until night time when as I went to take a bath I noticed I had a lump behind my ear. I looked in the mirror and saw a tick embedded in my skin. I saw the little legs and freaked out!

I started to search my body and clothes when I had 2 other ticks embedded in my skin in my chest and one in my bladder area. I saw a few others on my clothes. I immediately pulled the ticks out (at that time I had never heard of lyme or knew how to handle a tick). As I pulled each tick out I only successfully pulled out 1 tick intact, the other two left their heads behind in my skin. I threw all the ticks in the toilet and flushed them down.

That night I became really sick with “the flu”. This flu was horrible that is how I can remember my story. I had some of the highest temps I ever had and really bad diarrhea and vomiting. I remember the “flu” lasted at least 2 weeks. After that each year that went by I would get mystery illnesses or rare diseases…etc. I would have ear aches, cold, flu, bronchitis, strep 3 times more than the average kid. I started getting really swollen glands and they felt like quarter sized cysts in my neck, arm pits, and under my ear. And of course swollen glands mean infection and I have had these swollen glands for 31 years now. They used to be very painful and they caused me to get a stiff neck frequently. I could barely turn my head or it hurt so bad, made me pass out or made me puke. They are lnow and cause me less trouble except for shocking my face.

Over the years I had something medically wrong each visit to the doctors. It was always something weird where doctors said “why would a kid your age have this?”. My legs used to lock and I couldn’t unlock them from the bent position without help from my dad. Almost like a dislocation except the tendons would lock. That was painful like a tight rubber band in my leg. My arms grew kind of crooked with slightly bent elbows. I had arthritis at age 21 and stenosis in my 20’s. I had IBS for 10-15 years and bad acid reflux with a lot of pain, which could be my possible GP. I could go on but you get the point.

After being diagnosed with FMS, hypothyroid, and CFS my LLMD found the cause that I indeed had lyme disease and coinfections. My LLMD at that time could tell as soon as I walked in that I had neuro lyme. I did three years of aggressive treatment which included oral abx, IV abx, injection abx, herbal protocols, diets, infusions, homeopathic protocols, supplements, PICC…. if someone mention it was helping them, I tried it. I never felt any better using anything and I rarely herxed only with certain anti-malarials and abx. So recently a couple different LLMDs and myself were all on the same page that my lyme is too late to try and “cure” and abx are not helping my body for my case. I also recently tested positive again using the lyme culture, I was positive in 10 days. So after 3 years of aggressive treatment and feeling no better my lyme is still very active. The focus now is getting my body cleaned and immune boosted while trying to kill of Bart and Babs still.

 

 

Keep your head up your are worth it!

 

 

 

 

___________________________________________________________________________

 

 

 

 

 

5 Responses to “Unhappy 31st Birthday Lyme”

  1. SHERRY SMITH April 6, 2014 at 11:53 am #

    My Dearest Bryan, We all Love you and Happy Birthday you made it 31 yrs………Im praying for a full recovery for you and God will heal you forever ! A miracle to occur……….Love, Sherry lyme for 18 yrs xxxxooo We will never give up, You write so wonderfully…………Keep us all update love hearing from you 🙂

    • 49er Bryan April 9, 2014 at 1:10 am #

      Thank you and I pray you will get a lot of relief soon. Keep staying strong and fighting the lyme.

  2. Brian April 6, 2014 at 8:04 pm #

    The one known exposure that I had was from about ten years of age while out rattlesnake hunting in Eastern Washington. I did not get a rash from the bite, nor did I get sick at the time, wasn’t until many years later that I became ill.

    As a Christian I do strongly feel that God is going to heal my of my health troubles. Even so I do look forward to the day when I step into paradise.

    • 49er Bryan April 9, 2014 at 1:10 am #

      I used to hunt and catch rattlesnakes and we sold them to my dad’s boss (he raised them). I never got the bulls-eye rash with my bites I just got very ill. Maybe your immune was stronger than mine at the time you were bit? It’s weird how lyme can be so different in each person’s case. One person may be working and have one or two symptoms where another is in a wheelchair and they both were bit around the same time. I think the immune plays a big role and how many infections came with that tick bite.

    • 49er Bryan April 9, 2014 at 1:10 am #

      I used to hunt and catch rattlesnakes and we sold them to my dad’s boss (he raised them). I never got the bulls-eye rash with my bites I just got very ill. Maybe your immune was stronger than mine at the time you were bit? It’s weird how lyme can be so different in each person’s case. One person may be working and have one or two symptoms where another is in a wheelchair and they both were bit around the same time. I think the immune plays a big role and how many infections came with that tick bite.

Leave a Reply

