Morphine, Opiates, Pain Killers And Constipation

20 Mar

miralax

 

Morphine, Opiates, Pain Killers And Constipation

Most of the meds (opiates, pain meds, other meds) we take with a chronic illness can cause really bad constipation. With my Norco I was constipated the first week on it but my body adjusted to it and I was regular. By the way Norco was my IBS savior, after having IBS for 10 years the Norco made me regular again. I am now using 90 mg of Morphine ER or MS Contin per day and I hear your body can never really adjust to the constipation with Morphine. I have possible Gastroparesis, slow digestion chronic dehydration and all my other meds that can help with the constipation also.

I had a really bad experience with the constipation from the morphine for the first 2 weeks. I was constipated or backed-up for 9 days! It wasn’t fun and wasn’t cool. I won’t go into details of how it all ended, way too much TMI, pain and passing out! But I will share how I have got the problem under control so far since then.

I am taking 1 cap full of Miralax or Polyethylene Glycol 3350, 1-2 stool softeners and 2 triple magnesium complex (I get them from swansons) and plenty of hydration with water each day. So far I seem to be having success one time per day or once every two days. I know it’s not good to take the stool softeners long term so I hope my body will start to adjust to the meds. I hope this info may help someone else going trough the same thing I did with the morphine. Best of luck to you and sorry readers for the TMI but I have to be honest and real.

Have a great flare-free day spoonie fam. Smile 🙂

 

___________________________________________________________________

 

 

 

 

 

2 Responses to “Morphine, Opiates, Pain Killers And Constipation”

  1. Sharon April 27, 2014 at 9:57 am #

    I just started reading your blog and getting updates. I am so glad you posted this!!! It is a topic no-one seems to address so many thanks!

  2. CranberryLyme May 10, 2016 at 10:44 am #

    I am up to 6-8 stool softeners, 4-12 prunes, benefiber, plus extra nutritional fiber sources…and things have only gotten worse. Gastroparesis is the ‘new’ diagnosis, but the symptoms have been there for years, well before I stared MS Contin 3 yrs ago. The pain can take my breath away, and I have a high pain tolerance due to all I have already been facing with Lyme, etc. Sorry to hear that you are suffering some of the same.

Leave a Reply

