Questions & Answers

7 Mar

QuestionsAndAnswers

Questions & Answers

I thought it might be helpful for some readers if we do a questions and answers type of thing where you the reader can ask lyme related questions in the comments section below and other readers or myself will try to answer them for you. Then I will do another blog post with those questions and any replies/answers to those questions soon. There is no “too much info” (TMI) here, we are all ill so we can relate to any embarrassing questions.

 

I start off the questions with one of my own that I need help with.

My Questions: How can I get a low-premium secondary insurance to help cover medical costs with my Medicare?

I have Original Medicare and a Part D plan but they only cover 80% of costs. I have a secondary insurance from before I had Medicare which is called Medi-Cal here in Ca (Medicaid) but since I have Medicare now Medi-Cal wants an $800 deductible per month before they will help cover any costs in each month. My IVIG (gammaguard) will cost me $471 out-of-pocket (covered by Medicare) per IV and I may need them a few times per week.Even my nurse said most of her patients on IVIG don’t pay a thing or pay much because they have secondary insurance.

My last visit to my LLNP was $900 and Medicare said they won’t reimburse any lyme doc visits for the last 3 years and future appts. My other must have meds/supps are $300 per month plus all my other needs so I will go in debt again at this rate. I know many can relate and some pay more out-of-pocket than I do. I just have already paid a ton out-of-pocket before I had Medicare so I have been there. I am looking for a way to get a low premium secondary insurance to cover the other 20% Medicare does not. Most secondary will not accept me since I have a small fixed income from disability or because I have Medicare. Thank you.

 

 

Please feel free to ask a question below or provide an answer if you can help. Thank you.

 

 

___________________________________________________________________

 

 

 

7 Responses to “Questions & Answers”

  1. Susan Peters March 7, 2014 at 8:33 am #

    Hello. I also have Chronic Neuro Lyme…..I have Mutual of Omaha as my Secondary to Maeicare….I believe it is Plan F….WONDERFUL covers everything….NO Co pays no deductables…..all Lab work, ER Visits and tests, Cost is $2220.00 per month…….HAS SAVED ME COUNTLESS THOUSANDS!!!

    • ExtraLymey May 6, 2014 at 10:31 am #

      if you can figure out a way to get on an international plan of one of the bigger insurance plans believe it or not not only the cost of the insurance goes down but also the coverage goes up. I have cigna international and I love it. i pay 1300 a month they pretty much cover everything. even the fry test. i pay for antibiotics on average anywhere from about 25 cents to 5 dollars. for penicillin (one month supply) 300 dollars that is for 2.4 million units with twice a week injections including the syringes and so on. 200 per person deductible and 600 max for the family. max out of pocket for the family is 1500 and i think per person is 500 or something like that. i have co insurance but somehow i pay so little for things.

      • 49er Bryan May 6, 2014 at 11:33 pm #

        Thanks for the reply. Unfortunately $1300 is about all of my income, i have no spouse or any help since my parents live check to check. Sounds great though! Glad you have it. I recently switched all my prescriptions to walmart and some rx are only $2-$4 so that helps me out. I appreciate the help though. Hope you are having better days.

  2. Brian March 12, 2014 at 3:58 pm #

    Here’s my question: How can I heal myself?

    Questions are easy to ask, answers are considerably more difficult.

    • 49erBry March 13, 2014 at 12:40 am #

      true. have you tried a good naturepath yet? they actually sit and listen to your whole history and they seem to be the most helpful at putting things together with the lyme. wish you luck on healing.

      • Brian March 14, 2014 at 8:26 am #

        I agree 100% 49er, without my LLND I would be sunk. Especially since my current junk medicaid insurance does not have real good provider coverage. She now wants me to come off of abx for two weeks to do a different kind of lab for intestinal bacteria, sounds like a good idea since I am not making progress.

      • 49erBry March 15, 2014 at 12:46 am #

        I think taking a break will be good for you and your body. Only one of my LLMDs pushed abx for 3 years aggressively but at that time he had no idea that I’ve had lyme for 31 years and that I was positive since my positive test came after I left his office. The abx did a number on my gut and the candida was a horrible nightmare I don’t want ti think about and the c-diff was bad. My LLND was great he sat me down and asked every detail from a child until current. He tried to connect all of my medical history and he found a lot of things through blood tests he ordered. I’m glad I was able to see him. But Medicare will no longer let me see him. I really hope you can find something and start progressing. My friends who have had lyme 10 years or less seem to be getting better and some are back to working and college. You will progress but it will take some time. Stay strong.

Leave a Reply

