I’m Angry – Visit To New PCP

25 Nov

eced33cab884b6617de7b5539284a16d

Angry Visit To New PCP

So after my last visit to my other PCP (who actually does believe in my lyme), she was very rude again and pretty much said she doesn’t know how to help me. She gets very cocky and loud with me. She asked during a the previous visit “you need to go see your LLMD asap and tell me your game plan”. So I visited my LLMD then next visit I told my PCP the “game plan”,  so she yells at me and belittles me “why do you go to an LLMD she is taking you for a ride and taking your money she’s not a real doctor”. Umm ok you told me to go see her so I do and you yell at me! She yelled at me about all my antibiotics and meds I take for lyme yet she prescribes me doxy….etc. She was just not pleasant although she believes in Lyme it’s not worth getting yelled at.

My mom made me an appointment with a new PCP which is actually my doctor I saw 4 years ago before I lost my insurance waiting for Medicare. The last thing he told me back then was “there is no Lyme in California” so I was hesitant to go see him again. He was also the one who found my hypothyroid, c-spine issues and arthritis so he did have some good points.

At the visit today he walks in and says “so what has been going on with you, a lot I see”. My mom hands him my positive Lyme culture and many blood tests then starts to talk (since I am always at a loss for words) and he was defensive, standing up for other doctors, saying he sees no proof of my Lyme or Lupus and that I need more documentation. I have a 4 foot high pile of medical records with proof, what more does he need?

The whole point of the visit was not that he helps me with Lyme but with all my other non-lyme issues like the flu…etc. I wanted a standing order for a home nurse to give me IV fusions for my dehydration. I told him I have chronic dehydration or ongoing and he said there is no such thing. I then said well everyday I am dehydrated no matter how much fluids I drink my blood work shows I am dehydrated and my last few ER visits they said I was dehydrated. He tells me how IV’s  are “VERY DANGEROUS” and he would never recommend IV fluids and he thinks I just don’t drink enough water. I drink more than anyone I know and mostly water/kombucha/gatorade.

He shot down the IV therapy, told me he doesn’t think I have Lyme although in the same medical building he works in my other doctors who are more experienced than him (neuro, neuro surgeon, rheum) and 4 LLMDs (not in his building) all say I do have 30 year chronic Lyme and co’s. He said they need to give him more documentation before he believes anything or will help. He read where my neuro surgeon said Lyme has ruined my spine and caused me not to be able walk for 2 weeks so he sees no need for spinal surgery since Lyme is the issue. His response was “well he never said you 100% have lyme”. What?!!

Then the jerk says “oh by the way I see you use marijuana for vomiting and nausea, well I do not treat any patients who use marijuana that’s like using crack or cocaine it’s illegal and you can make me lose my license”. He didn’t care I have my mmj card, I’m legit or that almost every doctor I have seen has highly recommended marijuana. He threatened to stop my pain meds if I continue to use marijuana although he knows it helps.

Basically he said “I will not be your doctor or help you and you need to find another doctor but make sure you have more proof before you see them because they won’t believe you either”. So he wished me good luck as I gave a fake “thank you”. So I left the office and dropped a lot of F-bombs on the way out.

So now back to the hunt of a new PCP again. I have seen so many I lost count but not one has shown any care or compassion. They turn their heads to my Lyme, coinfections, CFS, Lupus, Fibro and they always think I have something I’ve already tested negative for. So although I have solid proof of all these illnesses because they don’t diagnose me with it they don’t believe I have it or they just support the IDSA. It’s such a struggle for all of us Lymies to try to find just one doctor willing to help or care about us. I have already moved on I don’t care about idiots I know my own body better than they do and karma will take care of them.

But I won’t give up and neither should any of you. Hope you all have a Happy Thanksgiving and find a reason to be thankful.

____________________________________________________________________

22 Responses to “I’m Angry – Visit To New PCP”

  1. Sonya Rose November 25, 2013 at 11:21 pm #

    It’s truly a vicious cycle. I’m about seriously to lose my mind over it, too. I feel like one of those ping pong balls; bouncing back & forth, forth & back … off the table, on the table … being hit harder & harder! This is seriously insane … what we’re going through.

    I’m just at a loss of words…

    Thank you for sharing your journey. I know this is really hard on you … really hard. You’ve taken way too much abuse. This is not only a political disease, but one in which most doctors know very little about — how to treat properly. At least, they can give you respect. This is uncalled for!

    Where are the mad scientists who designed this crap? I wish we could find them & torture “The Cure” ~ out of them! I’m just kidding, but I know the truth is out there.

    I’m about 20 months out — with my 24/7 double vision — from Chronic Lyme Disease. I started with a Prism 1. Today, I am a Prism 18. My eye doctor will not operate because my vision is so unstable.

    I won’t give up hope either!

    Sending many good healing thoughts your way… Stay strong & don’t give up the good fight! I pray we will prevail~

    Sonya Rose

    • 49erBry November 26, 2013 at 3:26 pm #

      Thank you for the kind words. Wish those scientists were still alive I would strangle them. I hope your eye site will stabilize and you may get the surgery you need. Let’s hope your vision will be repaired. Keep up the fight and much peace and good luck to you.

  2. Andrea November 26, 2013 at 6:21 am #

    That’s horrible….and so sad that it is the story of so many!
    I’ve been blessed to have found a doctor very close to my house that diagnosed me and has been treating me back to life. I have not been to any other doctor in almost a year. I hope you find one like mine.

    • 49erBry November 26, 2013 at 3:23 pm #

      Your PCP diagnosed you or is this an LLMD?

      • Andrea November 26, 2013 at 3:33 pm #

        He’s a functional medicine doctor. He uses the rife and natural supplements. He also treats cancer and other things, but is finding more and more people with Lyme as part of the problem, but as we all know Lyme is never alone. He found everything.

      • 49erBry November 26, 2013 at 10:51 pm #

        That’s great, I’m so glad you found him. One of my LLMDs is an internal medicine doctor but she started treating lyme patients after her daughter was diagnosed with lyme. But she still recommends I find a PCP to take care of me. My LLND diagnosed me with a few things and a positive lyme test, my LLMDs diagnosed me with many things. But it is getting the PCPs to believe the tests that is hard. Hope you progress and heal. Have a great Thanksgiving.

  3. Christine November 26, 2013 at 8:54 am #

    I just want to thank you so much for sharing this! I feel far less crazy knowing someone else has been turned away by doctors, treated poorly, etc. I’m sorry you’ve had to endure this, but it means the world to me that you shared your story. Thank you, and good luck finding a decent PCP! It seems almost impossible sometimes.

    • 49erBry November 26, 2013 at 3:22 pm #

      Thank you and I don’t mind sharing all of our struggle with the world. I hope you have some luck also.

  4. jeff November 26, 2013 at 11:11 am #

    most doctors suck. we are all being given a big runaround and treatments that may or may not work, but a good doctor doesnt give up on a suffering patient and has compassion. keep looking they are out there.we need to start our own iv clubs.

    • 49erBry November 26, 2013 at 3:21 pm #

      True. I will keep on going. Hope you are having better days. IVs are dangerous lol jk

      • Clarice November 28, 2013 at 3:16 pm #

        IVs are dangerous??? But Lyme isn’t ?? – where do these people (Drs.) originate from…certainly not from this planet. I enjoy your blog and just hope you find the right combination and/or connections.

  5. Raelene Prograce November 26, 2013 at 11:19 am #

    Well, yes, this is how I am perceived as well. Sorry you had to go through it. For the last 4 years I have been seeing dr Stricker in San Francisco and he knows everything from head to toe about lyme. So in 4 and a half years I have avoided any other doctors. I went to ER last week for the first time ever because I thought my appendix was going to rupture. And that was such a mistake. I told them I had lyme. We did a scan and everything was fine. And the pain went away. After 8 hours they released me and I told the doctor that it was just muscle spasms and my lyme acting up. His response, are you sure you have lyme? The nurse told me I probably had a “gas bubble”. Lol.

    Anybody been to dr Harris in redwood city?

    • 49erBry November 26, 2013 at 3:20 pm #

      Wow really a gas bubble? Sorry, Ugh those idiots. We know our bodies and illnesses better than any of them so we know when something is wrong. I am a patient of Dr Harris, Dr G, and Dr Hynote.

  6. Theresa Lee November 26, 2013 at 12:36 pm #

    The guy sucks. He probably graduated in the bottom third of his class. But even the losers from med school get to hang out their shingle. Sorry, I can’t give you any hope. I have none myself and have given myself until my birthday on January 16 to feel better. If not, then on January 17, I will commit self euthanasia. I’m done . Maybe the next generation of lymes patients can do better. Good luck. I’m 57 and out of time.

    • 49erBry November 26, 2013 at 3:19 pm #

      You are correct. Please don’t give up, something good will happen you just have to hold on. Wish I had more for you but I just can’t right now. Sending you good luck, peace, happiness and hugs.

    • Clarice November 27, 2013 at 10:25 pm #

      I’m quite a bit older than you and still trying. Which area are you in, I would like to know more about your plight, which I too, have suffered and still am suffering.

    • Tammy December 7, 2013 at 7:14 am #

      Girlfriend, your not out of time….just out of resources! There is hope and you need to keep on believing the answer is out there…It’s just that the medical community really DOESNT understand the body and metabolic system. neither do I …. but I’m trying everything! I have the weirdest story and due to that did i DID not believe that I had Lyme!! I guess I’m two-three years into it and have fought mystery stiffness/fatigue/depression… I couldn’t move around – it would take me hours to get ready to go to the gym. Down my hormones/diet pills and then go workout and when I would go DO STRENGTH EXERCISES AND shoot hoops at (52) because it was a multi functional exercise… After an hour to mobilize my body and then two hours in the gym….then I could function through the day. (The more I heat up my body – the better my body worked). (I think the heat has something to do with killing off fungi/candida???) It sure helps get oxygen moving around in the body! Then get up the next day and do it again! I honestly didn’t think I had lyme.. lol I took some livestock nutritional classes and started learning things and going aahhh! Then I started experimenting with my own vitamin/minerals and the theory that I have leaky gut syndrome……..which you can alter with diet….then when you take those supplemental vits/mins they will finally be absorbed. Through my nutritional classes for “livestock” and feeding the cattle that we have. I can tell you that “mycotoxins” (fungi/molds/high nitrate and parasites) will cause something similar to leaky gut syndrome …. (the intestinal lining is permeated with holes and this in turn leaks toxins into the blood system!) The intestinal lining is 80% of your immune system. My body had electricity running through it like I was hooked up to a battery…I couldn’t sit still or think straight! Cleaning up the leaky gut as helped this tremendously…well its actually gone…unless I overload on sugar or potassium. Now, that you know what these toxins can do to the lining of your stomach… you also need to know that your body will try to eliminate these toxins….the ionic charges of the calcium and magnesium in your body will latch onto the toxins and carry them out of your system……..leaving your body with much less resources to function all your metabolic systems on. Your muscles need all of those electrolytes that the toxins are stealing from your body. I did take supplemental vitamins/minerals in separate pills and at different times and I couldn’t see any benefit… But, once I started taking the L-gutemine for the leaky gut syndrome and started eating oats everyday…sometimes twice a day and cutting out major sugar intake and high potassium drinks like PowerAde (which I thought would help the constant dehydration that I had)…And PowerAde will help if you have been doing a lot of excess sweating… But, I was trying to use it as a drink instead of water to add electrolytes…..due to lyme. The excess potassium will also tie up calcium and magnesium and make it unavailable to your body. (The gut needs a combination of vit/min/enzymes/etc to function correctly) I don’t have it all figured out but I know that I’m on the right tract. The last two days my back has been very tight that I couldn’t hardly bend over and my kidneys hurt. I started my doxycycline again and re-started the L-glutamine and took 3000 of D3 and within two hours I can feel my back loosening up. I also supplement with a combo vitamin of calc/mag/D3 daily…..which I thought was enough. I guess I need to keep a record and trace my cycle of lyme because adding another 3000mg of D3 today has been an eye opener for me….Get ready girl!!! Because this thing can be overcome! But, you will need to dig in and find your own nutritional resources to find the answers…. The medical community doesn’t really recognize leaky gut and they can’t seem to figure out how (Electrolytes and toxins) really work in the body… Oh, yeah! My metabolic dr did a bone density scan and disovered that my skeleton was zig-zagging from my neck to my lower spine…He called it scoliosis and said that there was nothing you could do about it)… lol I’m a rebel and won’t take “no” or “it can’t” be done….lol That was just a dare to me! hahaha (You come from my generation, I bet you have a little bit of that “I can” in you too!) I had to do exercises to stretch and straighten my spine……..all the while struggling because it was so hard and nothing would move…my progress was incremental but my determination was overloaded…. Once I figured out that fixing the gut had to be conquered before the supplements would work…..the muscles started loosening up and now….when I go shoot hoops – my aim is straight in the basket! lol Hey, I don’t play with other people..I only shoot to find where by body is stuck. As I stretch to release the ball – my mind scans my body to find the tight spots. Let me tell you – it takes backbone to be 52 and go shoot hoops with the other end of the gym filled with basketball players. I sure hope that they don’t think that I am looking for a spot on their team! lol But, it does me good to learn how to block them out of my mind and focus! This to shall pass!
      Find a holistic nutritionalist….

      • Tammy December 7, 2013 at 7:15 am #

        Theresa – your not out of time!

    • Anjebelle December 31, 2013 at 6:22 pm #

      Hi Theresa, please talk with more patients. Maybe it can help. I know those feelings. It is a long and difficult path we are on. Please reply to me anytime, I can talk. I will send you my #, or you can send me yours. You can hang on thru these tough times. Sometimes we just need a little empathy, support, and understanding from others.

  7. Andrea November 27, 2013 at 8:46 am #

    Thank you!

    I’m doing so much better! I’m working almost full time again and the Lyme is no longer showing up! He uses muscle testing techniques (quantum reflex analysis). But I’ve really had great results. I don’t really trust regular doctors much anymore. The good, sincere ones who really love their job are really hard to come by. Now I feel like I’m marketing for my doc, but I’m not. I’m just really believe he’s helping a lot of people out. He has a few informational videos on YouTube about a lot of things Lymies have to deal with. I think we need to learn as much as possible and be our own advocates because traditional medicine is killing us little by little, and I’m a physical therapist!

    Anyway, I hope you enjoy your Thanksgiving among loved ones! I hope you find someone who can truly help you get your life back.

  8. Sonya Rose November 30, 2013 at 9:33 am #

    Yesterday, it was a very dark, rainy day. I came of the bathtub ~ really dizzy. So, I sat down by my dog, who was sitting by the open door of the balcony. Just staring out together… seeing double like always. (The stick-on prisms really are blurry to see out of, so I find myself not wearing them too much.)

    Anyways, I just kept looking in the sky… Not really expecting to see the sunset. The sun never came out. I just wanted some fresh air, a moment of peace.

    Then, a rainbow appeared suddenly, moments before the skies went pitch black. I saw two double rainbows that’s four rainbows when the avg. person saw two, & looking in the reflection of the glass door made it eight rainbows. It was unreal~

    I was thinking about my one aunt’s dream, about a year ago, on Christmas Eve… She dreamt a cousin of mine, one of her nephews, was approaching this old-fashioned wooden barrel (behind him was this unknown spirit). She saw my cousin put his head in that barrel. It had black snakes in there. She’s never seen so many in her life & it scared her. She, also, saw my cousin’s best friend’s face in there.

    Anyways, came Christmas Day, that cousin of mine (from my aunt’s dream)… well, took his gun & well,… No one in my family really talks about it. My mom held a service for him at our church. I never even wrote about this… until now.

    My cousin had been in a lot of pain from losing his dad & his best friend to cancer, then, losing his own health, job of 20-something years. It just all went downhill for him. He was not married & living back home with his mom. He was somewhere in his 50s.

    The thing is…. My aunt said to me that when she heard the news … she never cried so hard in her entire life. I think she keeps looking back to her dream … regrets not calling him right there & then & telling him ~ she loves him. He never knew how much he was loved. Maybe, couldn’t see through it all~

    You know, I’m a big believer in there is no death, just another world. So, we never truly die. The pain we have today ~ we could carry onto the next life. Well, maybe not the physical pain, but the mental pain, maybe…

    My cousin’s mom gets these kisses now on her forehead, as she’s coming out of dreaming; sometimes they are warm, sometimes cold. Maybe, they are her husband’s or her son’s or her mother’s (who passed of the same cancer I’ve been battling ~ breast) or maybe, a friend’s… She lost a lot of people she loved in her life & the holidays are the toughest.

    I’m not that kind of sensitive where I can sense spirits (my dog can though!), but I do have dreams of warning, like my aunt. I dreamt of a really big lady, once, who warned me to get my breasts checked ASAP. So, thankfully, I did. Since, I’ve had several surgeries, chemo, other cancer treatments… Doing everything I can to get myself out of this hole.

    It has been tough, in my battle, to see my loved ones pass of cancer before me … hear a neighbor of ours jump from our building, a famous director from the bridge in front of us … somehow triggered that painful memory for me & my husband in NYC on 9/11 & for another I know, the war.

    I don’t know why all this happening in each of our lives. But last night after getting depressed about some pretty intense private stuff, I heard my aunt singing, “Jesus Loves Me”. It was her birthday (& my dad’s ~ they’re twins) & the first song she sang to me when I was a little girl. Because of her, my mom met my dad & my sister & I ~ are here.

    I’m not sure why I had that dream of divine intervention … why I am still here, because without that dream ~ I most likely wouldn’t be. My cancer flew right under the radar. If it’s just to say, “Hang in there…” I hope it would be enough~

    Hope Theresa you hang in there, especially~ hang on for that rainbow… Hope it will shine for you in the darkest of nights. xoxoxo

  9. dupa December 2, 2013 at 11:04 am #

    omg, it’s really better to treat yourself. Have you seen this?
    http://www.lyme.aquahobby.eu/
    there are some really good advices.

Leave a Reply

