Visit To The ER (Hospital)

13 Nov

image

Visit To The ER

Monday evening I was feeling very weird and knew something was different. Earlier during the weekend I had passed out for 4 hours and was unconscious and sweating bad. I kept having more fever, chills and neuro issues than usual Monday so I asked my mom to take me to the ER.

We got to the ER and they were actually nice this time and helpful. This time I had “30 year chronic lyme” written in my medical documents from my PCP. They immediately gave me a lot of blood work, took an x-ray of my chest, EKG, CT scan of my brain and IV fluids with meds. I was given (2) 1000 ml IV saline bags and Tylenol since I had already taken 5 Norco and have my Butrans 15 mcg pain patch on. I had a fever of 100 but I always run a low temp of 96 so I never usually go up to 100 unless I have the flu…etc.

I laid in the bed in and out of sleep, I could not keep my eyes open even when the doctors and nurses were talking to me. I felt as though I was in a bad dream and nothing was real. I didn’t even feel the needle they stuck in my arm. I was having nausea too so they gave me something for it but I didn’t see what it was this time.

Tuesday morning around 3:30 am the doctor (who was really nice) came in and said all my blood work was fine and my heart and brain look okay. His diagnoses was a lyme/chronic fatigue flare up with severe dehydration. I have chronic dehydration so I am dehydrated daily but I had been drinking plenty of water before hand, I guess my electrolytes were too low. With POTS I guess I better eat more salt and drink more Gatorade.

I was given the opportunity to be admitted but the doctor said he didn’t really know what else he could do to help with CFS and lyme so I went home. The good part was they told me I can come back now anytime I need fluids or feel bad. Last time I went they told me not to come back and just to see my regular PCP because they didn’t believe I had lyme since it wasn’t in my records. I will most likely get a standing order for a home nurse to give me IV fluids as I need them.

I am feeling a little better but still smiling. Keep fighting all you fellow chronic illness warriors and never give up.

 

 

 

____________________________________________________________________

9 Responses to “Visit To The ER (Hospital)”

  1. denisa November 13, 2013 at 6:40 am #

    you hold on brave lyme warior I have lyme 20 year and Iam in fight too sending you healing Energy and big hug

  2. clergywomen November 13, 2013 at 8:05 am #

    Wow !!! Feel better ! Hugs !

    Sent from my iPhone

  3. Christine November 13, 2013 at 8:53 am #

    I am so sorry you felt so terrible…it sounds awful! But I am very glad you were treated well and respectfully in the ER.

  4. Liisa November 13, 2013 at 9:30 am #

    Oh goodness, what an experience! Glad they were more compassionate and helpful this time at least. I’m sure that’s a relief. I’m pretty new to this game – having Lyme for “only” about 2-3 years now. But I also seem to be dehydrated and have to be mindful of that. I tend to crave salt all the time. And I want to eat all the time.

    Glad you are back home and I hope you feel a little stronger. Thank you so much for your encouragement – it really helps.

  5. SHERRY SMITH November 13, 2013 at 7:57 pm #

    Your going to get thru this,,,,,,,,,,,,,With his stipes we are healed………….Jesus is with you and will never leave you ever!!! Hang in there God is going to heal you trust me…………we are praying for you Im so sorry you have had to endure so much pain……………..we are hanging in here with you. Keep laughing it is he best meds…………I hate this cold weather It hurts so much……………keep me posted Always, your Friend Sherry 🙂

  6. SHERRY SMITH November 13, 2013 at 7:59 pm #

    We are all prayer warriors and will never ever give up Jesus is there with you every step of the way…………….!!!!!!

  7. SHERRY SMITH November 13, 2013 at 8:13 pm #

    Since my husband left me and took all the money , it has been a long sruggle since 1995………I have no Dr who beleives in Lyme…..Prayer is life’s greatest time saver………………..We stand the tallest and stongest on our knees,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,he hears every prayer every cry, every tear…………You are Loved………All things are possible with our Lord,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,Matthew 19:26 Hang in there Brian He has a great plan for you Sherry

  8. Jen S November 15, 2013 at 9:57 pm #

    I’m so glad your Mom took you and it was a pleasant experience (if that is possible). We share so many diagnostic codes. You are in my thoughts and prayers-
    Jen

    • 49erBry November 22, 2013 at 11:09 am #

      Thank you and right back at ya.

Leave a Reply

