My Lyme & Memory loss

30 Sep

11410875-memory-loss-alzheimer-s-ahead-road-street-sign

Lyme & Memory loss

Thanks to Lyme disease I’ve lost both short-term and long-term memory. I couldn’t tell you which is worse. My fear is that I will have Alzheimer’s at an early age. Will the memory loss get worse or will I gain memory back? I stay hopeful it will get better over time.

I am taking tinctures and supplements for memory and detoxing the brain but nothing seems to help. I hate feeling like I have the memory of a 90 year old man. Everything I used to know and love are fading away in memories.

I love NFL football and I can’t even remember names of players most days. My high school friends have to tell me things we used to do in high school so I will remember them. When I hear them it’s brand new to me and I’m either thinking “I was really a cool guy back then” or “stupid” in most cases.

It’s so surreal to hear your own past from others and have no idea that that stuff actually happened and I was there. I just see a blank space when I try to think of most of my past. I have lost basically memory from a child up to present day.

My short term memory makes life so different. If I want to tell somebody something I have to tell them right away before I get interrupted or I will forget what I was going to say. I can make many reminders of things and still forget. I will be in the middle of a story and forget what I was saying or what the topic was.

I tell my friend or parents to make sure I don’t forget things. One example of memory loss that recently happened.. I took all my pills for the day then 30 min later I said “did I take my pills” . (My pill minder is one day ahead but with memory I forget that sometimes). So I never knew if I did take them that day. I will forget my wallet sometimes when I got to the pharmacy. I forget to respond to people who text me and I love to text.

I know many lymies suffer from cognitive issues and memory loss. I hope this is only temporary and not chronic. Each doctor says they will give me something to help get my brain functioning again but in 3 years that has yet to happen. Just have to stay positive and keep up the fight.

 

I hope all my followers and fellow spoonies are all doing better and find some happiness. Don’t ever give up the fight. Things will get better for us.

 

 

_______________________________________________________________________________________________________

 

 

7 Responses to “My Lyme & Memory loss”

  1. carrill September 30, 2013 at 10:41 pm #

    I have learned about a product called Product B which works at detoxing at the chromosome level to stop the deterioration of one’s brain. If you like, I can give you a phone number. I am trying this product now for the same memory issues as well as for weakened immune system, bacterial infection and viruses.

  2. Mame October 1, 2013 at 1:38 am #

    This is a huge concern of mine too. For me, it’s not a consistent decline, but up and down. Last week forgot my address and I have been here for 27 years. I think it gets worse when I run out of turmeric or the metal detox. My doc says that when I get well (she is hopeful) these memory problems will be gone. But for now, I try to do things with my diet and supplements as if I am trying to prevent dementia from starting. The whole thing about forgetting what I’m trying to say mid sentence stinks. So…hope my doctor is right on the return of cognitive functions, cuz this can be nightmare-ish. Get better everyone!!! 🙂

  3. Barbara Brady October 1, 2013 at 4:06 am #

    This article hits home for me. Lyme takes so much from us. I can only say, when I read your articles, they give me comfort and hope. Thanx so much for reaching out to others and remember…You are Never am on in the fight against Lyme!

  4. Liisa October 1, 2013 at 9:06 am #

    I am new to this blog but so much appreciate it. This story about memory loss was so accurate for me. I don’t have too much trouble with long term memory, thank God (yet?) But short term is horrible. I do the same things – forget where I was going with a story or a thought. I can’t do anything without a list – even go to the pharmacy for one single supplement. I am also trying to do whatever I can to help my brain function. It is scary for my family, too, and I feel bad for them.

  5. Bill October 2, 2013 at 5:08 am #

    Ditto for me. Among all the symptoms the memory loss is among the most terrifying. I have to remind myself that some of the immediate effects may get better if the Lyme is brought under control. Also, the numerous drugs we take definitely contribute to this. And yes this blog and people like all of you do make a positive difference!

  6. Rae R.N. November 19, 2013 at 7:22 pm #

    Ever tired Pinella by Nutramedix for brain detox? Also juicing/smoothies with coconut oil in morning could be helpful. I have memory troubles too and it is much improved now.

    • 49erBry November 22, 2013 at 11:09 am #

      Yeah they didn’t help much. Mangosteen helped for about 3 days. Glad your memory is improving. 🙂

Leave a Reply

