Where To Send A Tick For Testing

18 Mar

deer_tick_nj_3.13383824_std

 

A Tick Bit Me, Someone I Know Or My Pet Where Can I have It Tested?

I am often asked by people I meet “where can I send a tick I pulled off of myself to have it tested to see if it is a carrier for lyme disease or any other TBD“. I always tell them to send the tick dead or alive to IGeneX for testing. However I read an article HERE about a new test for only $40. After researching the web site for the other lab I read about I see various prices and testing which I will share below.

If you are scared and not sure whether you should have a tick tested that say bit your loved one I would recommend sending it in for a peace of mind and closure. You can never be too safe with ticks and I think paying the $40-$60 is worth it so later you are not paying $4000-$6000 a month for meds and watching them suffer from this horrible disease. I’m sure there are other places you can send the ticks and I know one place has slipped my mind but I don’t have the energy to search for it.

______________________________________________________________________________

 

ESU Wildlife DNA Laboratory

Contact Information

ESU Innovation Center
(570) 422-7892
(570) 422-3724 (Fax)
Director
ESU Wildlife DNA Laboratory

Jane Huffman
jhuffman@esu.edu
(570)422-7891
Web Site
 
 
 

Tick Testing Click Here

Lyme-Aid Kit Click Here

Tick Testing

The tick is tested for an infectious agent using a sensitive DNA based screening technique known as Polymerase Chain Reaction (PCR).

The tick can be submitted dead or alive.

The test result of the tick screen does not rule out or confirm the presence of the agent or exposure to the patient.

The result is intended to provide you and your physician or veterinarian with important information, when combined with other information, to help determine risk of exposure and subsequent clinical treatment and follow–up.

Diagnostic Panel I (DP01)

  • Disease: Lyme, Ehrlichiosis, Babesiosis, Bartonellosis
  • Agent: Borrelia burgdorferi, Anaplasma phagocytephilia, Babesia microti, Bartonella henselae
  • Fee: $175.00/Tick

Lyme

  • Disease: Lyme Disease
  • Agent: Borrelia burgdorferi
  • Fee: $75.00/Tick

EHRL

  • Disease: Ehrlichiosis
  • Agent: Anaplasma phagocytophilia
  • Fee: $75.00/Tick

BABE

  • Disease: Babesiosis
  • Agent: Babesia microti
  • Fee: $75.00/Tick

BART

  • Disease: Bartonellosis
  • Agent: Bartonella henselae
  • Fee: $75.00/Tick

Diagnostic Panel II (DP02)

  • Disease: Rocky Mountain Spotted Fever, Tularemia
  • Agent: Rickettsia rickettsii, Francisella tularensis
  • Fee: $100.00/Tick

RMSF

  • Disease: Rocky Mountain Spotted Fever
  • Agent: Rickettsia rickettsii
  • Fee: $75.00/Tick

TULA

  • Disease: Tularemia
  • Agent: Francisella tularensis
  • Fee: $75.00/Tick

______________________________________________________________________________

 

IGenX

Contact Information

IGeneX, Inc.
795 San Antonio Rd
Palo Alto, CA 94303
800/832-3200 Fax: 650/424-1196

Tick Test Requisition Form Click Here

Test 140 – Lyme Disease (B. burgdorferi) $65.00
Test 689 – Babesiosis (B microti and/or B duncani) $65.00
Test 148 – Ehrlichiosis (Ehrlichia) $65.00
Test 290 – Bartonella henselae $65.00
Test 975 – Rickettsia $65.00

– Good Luck!

______________________________________________________________________________

Leave a Reply

