Taking A Break – Latest Blood Work Results

15 Dec

will-return-sign2

 

Taking A Break

 

My Latest Blood Work Results

After my last blood results a couple of months ago it was thought for the second maybe the third time in my life I definitely have Lupus. Like I have said before it runs in the family and one doctor will say you have yet another will say you do not. My rheum and LLMD thought I have it.

My new primary doctor (who I am not a fan of) thought I was so partier who was up to no good I guess although I told her I have been bed bound for the past 3-4 years and I don’t do anything. She tested me for Hep C, HIV, Syphilis and some other STDs. I was also tested for Lupus, Lyme, Vit D, Thyroid, cholesterol and a Complete blood panel.

 

My results:

Lupus – Negative! (was positive/ high ANAs last month)

HIV, HEP C, Syphilis, STDs – Negative

Western Blot #2 – Negative on all bands (was INT on bands last test)

Vitamin D – Borderline low/deficient (I took 50,000 IU already and now 6,000 IU per day for 3-4 years)

Thyroid – Borderline low (take levoxyl daily)

Cholesterol – High on everything (I eat/drink healthy, don’t smoke, don’t drink…etc)

 

I am told that my double C677T MTHFR mutation can cause bad cholesterol which makes sense to me because it’s not like I’m overweight and eat fast food all the time. I eat maybe 2 meals per day and usually chicken and veggies and I drink either tea or water. So it was a shock to see my cholesterol so high. It also runs in the family (genetics).

My Western Blot is going to piss me off because my PCP will say to me “SEE I TOLD YOU LYME IS NOT CHRONIC AND YOU DON’T HAVE IT”. Then I will have to explain how inaccurate the Western Blot is and about false negatives all over again like I have done time and time again with PCPs. I already explained to her all of my weird symptoms that only fit Lyme disease and conifections but she didn’t seem to believe me. She kind of gave me the “quit being a baby look”.

I have nearly exhausted all my primary doctor (PCP) choices who take my insurance in my area and I don’t drive so I need to stay near by. Plus this doctor is at a well known medical center which I like or else I would keep looking for a new doc. But after not finding a good doctor over and over and over you just sort of give up. This doctor on her web site said she “deals with Lyme” yet she knows nothing about it.

So my blood work once again had some good and bad in it. But nothing will get me down during the Holidays, I love Christmas and I plan on making some deserving people happy with my gifts. The Holidays are about being close to those you love and spending time together and not about the presents but I just like to spoil my little buddy.

 

Antibiotic Break

I am taking a break from antibiotic at this time. I did antibiotics, injections (IV recently) hard and heavy for 2 years straight and I am showing no progress. I think it is time to let my body and organs rest. I am taking supplements and focusing on my immune system now.  I never have any good days and I never leave my house (literally). At this point I am lost and trust no doctors and I feel I need to just enjoy football and not have to worry about an IV in my arm.

 

My heart goes out to all the children and families in the shooting today. So sad.

 

-I wish you all a safe and happy Holiday.

 

 

 

 

______________________________________________________________________________

 

 

8 Responses to “Taking A Break – Latest Blood Work Results”

  1. discovertroy December 15, 2012 at 1:12 am #

    Maybe a break from meds will do you good. Lets hope so. Do you take any digestive enzymes? If not maybe try this one, http://www.iherb.com/m/dd?pid=9549. I watched a good YouTube on digestive enzymes, if we are diseased then enzymes become scarce.

  2. Barbara Brady December 15, 2012 at 8:37 am #

    YES, I definitely agree, it’s time to take a break from the I.V. meds. I had lyme for over 14 yrs, my doctor forgot to tell me..? long story… well, 2 more years of pain and agony, lost job and going thru hell I was finally diagnosed by a neurologist. I’ve gone thru the whole gambit of oral and i.v. abx, lots of other meds and plenty of herbal remedies. my liver got so overwhelmed along with other organs. after almost dying from an infected picc-line, I decided to pull the plug on everything! I stopped all abx, slowly got off the harsher meds and very slowly weaned myself from almost all the herbal supplements. It’s been rough, but my body has started to level off some and my liver function is almost normal again. Don’t get me wrong, it’s not for everybody. I think having Lyme for over 16 yrs without treatment, well the damage was already done. I still struggle everyday with pain, cognitive disorders and terrible short term memory, but really no difference like when I took all the other meds.
    Point is, I believe everyone needs to give their body a break in treatment at least every 6 months or so. All the meds can actually take a giant toll on you and sometimes do more damage than good. Check with your doctor first by all means, but be your own advocate. You ultimately have to live with yourself, not the doctors.

    • 49erBry December 16, 2012 at 1:03 am #

      Barbara I agree with you. 30 years later and being sick my whole life and my primary is telling me the 6 tick bites and getting sick were all nothing. Just so frustrating. I hope you are having better days.

  3. tersiaburger December 15, 2012 at 12:11 pm #

    I also think the meds break is an excellent idea. Enjoy the Holidays. Hope you have a glorious Christmas. Hope you get lots of presents too!

  4. Nancy Geier Puckett December 15, 2012 at 1:01 pm #

    So glad that you are taking a break from it all to try and enjoy your Christmas with those you love and who love you! Perhaps doing so will give you and your body a new perspective in the New Year. Happy “Christmasing” and I hope that you step outside your door and take a ride to enjoy some festive lights in your area. 🙂

    • 49erBry December 16, 2012 at 1:01 am #

      Thank you for the link Troy and thank you all. I hope you all have the best Christmas and 2013 possible. Enjoy the little things. All I want for Christmas is for my Lyme sister to get better, she is really bad and she had heart & port surgery twice this past month. I didn’t ask for anything for Xmas I just hope maybe to find a wife under the tree. 🙂

  5. Toyah J. December 19, 2012 at 11:13 am #

    There were two things that popped up in my head for you as i can tell how frustrated you feel. 1) HCG hormone – have you tried it for fibro and energy issues? – if not then i think it may help you. it has been used for weightloss for the most part, but also now being used for chronic pain, fibro, energy etc. dr Jacob Teitelbaum first introduced me to it. i inject it under the skin. toyahi@rogers.com – my email in case you have any questions. 2) Florida detox center – Dr sponaugle – http://floridadetox.com/. im looking into going there. he cured his own daughter of chronic lyme – he does drug detox but also a lot of work with lyme, mold toxins etc – its VERY worth it to read the entire website.

    • 49erBry December 19, 2012 at 11:21 pm #

      I’ve read about doctor S in Florida, seems interesting. As for the hormones I was told I can’t have them but I can’t remember why. I will check them out. Hope you are doing well.

Leave a Reply

