Heart Health, Liver Detox, PreBiotic Intestinal Help & Gallbladder Cleanse

13 Sep

______________________________________________________________________________

 

Heart Health, Liver Detox and PreBiotic Intestinal Help (as per Dr. Oz)

As someone with Lyme disease I cannot stress enough to those taking antibiotics that you need to detox your organs, keep your intestines healthy, and keep your hearth healthy. Lyme can cause all sorts of issues with all of the above so we need to do our part to keep these organs as healthy as possible. Follow these simple steps for each below that Dr. Oz recommends to keep you healthy. I will also include a Gallbalder cleanse for those who have Gallbladder issues.

______________________________________________________________________________

 

Heart Health

Take the following daily:

  • DHA Omega 3 supplement – 600 mg (up to 1000 mg)  DHA one time per day

I take Krill Oil  and many use fish oil but Dr Oz recommends just the 600 mg of the DHA. I looked at my bottle and noticed my Krill Oil and Fish Oil are nowhere near 600 mg. You can find some DHA 600 mg if you shop around like this one HERE at Amazon. Low-dose aspirin can increase bleeding I am told so if you have health risks only take this if recommended by your doctor.

**If you want to know more about Omega 3 and DHA visit Dr. Oz’ web site HERE

______________________________________________________________________________

Liver Detox Tonic

Take the following daily:

  • 1/4 warm water
  • Juice of 1 lemon wedge
  • 2 dashes of hot sauce

This is a morning tonic with Vitamin C and Capsaicin to help clean out the sludge clogging the liver and get things moving.

Liver Detox Foods

Take the following daily:

Arugula
Bok choi
Broccoli
Broccoli rabe
Broccoli romanesco
Brussels sprout
Cabbage
Cauliflower
Chinese broccoli
Chinese cabbage
Collard greens
Daikon
Garden cress
Horseradish
Kale
Kohlrabi
Komatsuna
Land cress
Mizuna
Mustard – seeds and leaves
Pak choi
Radish
Rutabaga
Tatsoi
Turnips – root and greens
Wasabi
Watercress

Dr. Oz recommended:

Endive
Spinach (not baby)
Broccoli
Arugula

These greens will increases the flow of bile. You can have a salad or use broccoli barely steamed, stir fried just don’t over cook them or they lose of of the good stuff.

 

My recommendations for organ detox:

Milk Thistle (for the liver)
Chance Piedra (for the kidneys and is known to help with kidney stones)
Chlorella

______________________________________________________________________________

PreBiotic Intestinal Help

Take the following daily:

  • 2-4 servings a day of

Bananas
Whole grain
Honey
Garlic
Onion

I’m sure there are many more but I am too exhausted to find them. These were the main foods recommended by Dr. Oz. These foods will feed your gut and intestines and work well with your probiotics. Probiotics are VERY important while on antibiotics to help you from having issues such as C-Diff. If you want to stay out of the bathroom and have less stomach pains then please keep up with your pre and probiotic. I recommend VSL#3 for your probiotic and do not skip taking it or you will be sorry. I had the start of C-Diff and it was horrible.

______________________________________________________________________________

 

Gallbladder Cleanse

For those of you having gallbladder issues you may want to try this. I hear it works great and has helped many friends with Lyme. This is not my recipe and I have not tried it since my gallbladder is fine for now. Many who use IV meds such as Rocephin (Ceftriaxone) will have gallbladder issues and possibly need their gallbladder removed so this is the step before removal.

 

The Cleanse

Drink 2-3 glasses of apple juice every day for at least one week before doing the flush.  Or take malic acid every day for at least one week.  The malic acid helps to soften any gallstones that may be present, making it easier to pass them during the flush.

  • ½ cup water
  • ½ cup apple juice, organic
  • ½ cup extra virgin olive oil
  • 1 whole organic lemon, cut into pieces, with skin

Blend all together.  Drink.  30 to 60 minutes after drinking the lemon, oil, apple juice and water mixture, mix 1 tablespoon of Epson salts in 1 cup of water and drink it.  May repeat the Epson salt drink up to 4 times, if desired.

Feedback from a reader:

I did the oz cleanse. Now am in the hosp waiting to have my gallblader taken out. Apparently the smoothies overstimulate . My pancreatic enzymes skyrocketed. I never, ever had been in so much pain.

 

 

* You may want to ask your doctor before doing the cleanse but I hear it is virtually painless and there are no side-effects. Good luck!

______________________________________________________________________________

24 Responses to “Heart Health, Liver Detox, PreBiotic Intestinal Help & Gallbladder Cleanse”

  1. Lymed Out September 13, 2012 at 12:09 pm #

    Thanks for this!!! I was watching Dr. Oz yesterday and I missed half the episode and didn’t write half his stuff down… THANK YOU! I will print this out.

    • 49erBry September 13, 2012 at 9:35 pm #

      You’re welcome. I saw on the news this morning that fish oil does not do what they claim. I trust Dr Oz though since he is a heart surgeon.

  2. Lymed Out September 13, 2012 at 12:11 pm #

    Actually I did the gallbladder cleanse… but slightly different… read up on that here… it wasn’t very pleasant… lol http://lymedout.wordpress.com/2009/12/16/the-liver-flush/

    • 49erBry September 13, 2012 at 9:47 pm #

      That doesn’t sound fun. I hear if you have large stone they can get stuck. Did you have the gallbladder removed and how do you feel now? Were you on Rocephin IV when the gallbladder went bad?

      I feel so crappy everyday I wouldn’t even notice if something gave me symptoms or side effects.

      • Lymed Out September 14, 2012 at 7:22 am #

        I had my gallbladder out 3 years ago BEFORE I found out about the lyme and I had no lyme symptoms back then… I actually felt really good for 8 months after the surgery until crap hit the fan when my lyme symptoms came…. surgeon said i had 2 stones… large ones. and one was indeed stuck in the bile duct.

  3. Lymed Out September 13, 2012 at 1:45 pm #

    for C.Diff. how did you get it? Most ppl have the assumption that you can only get it from hospitals. Also, did you cure it? And how many probiotics do u take a day

    • 49erBry September 13, 2012 at 9:43 pm #

      I got C-Diff from taking antibiotics and rifampin. I was on an aggressive treatment so I was taking numerous antibiotic at one time with other meds that are tough on the gut/intestines. I guess I needed to triple my probiotic but I was only taking my usual dosage. Staring Clindamycin I was told up front to double/triple my antibiotics since it is known to cause C-Diff. You can get it at home. The assumption only at the hospital is probably because people have no idea Lyme patients take so many antibiotic at home and more than a person in a hospital.

      I cured it by knowing that I had C-diff early and I stopped all antibiotic and pills for a month and took plenty of probiotic, ate the right foods, and took Chlorestimine powder in water. I take 2 Florastor per day and 2 VSL#3 but when on an aggressive treatment you up it 2x – 3x. The VSL#3 packets have more live good bacteria if you don’t want the pills. Never stop probiotics while on antibiotic. For candida take coconut oil and use oral nystatin.

      • Lymed Out September 14, 2012 at 7:26 am #

        i was on nystatin for 3 months and llmd said that the bugs will get resistant to it so I stopped it on this round of treatment. So here’s my protocol now, what do u think?

        Mon, Wed, Friday = Florastor 1 pill 2 times a day
        Tues, Thurs, Sat, Sun = Probiotics Metagenics 1 pill 2x a day

        For abx, I’m on a pulse.
        Pulse A – Clarithromycin, Quinine, Bab2 (herb)
        Pulse B – Clindamycin, Plaquenil, Tindamax

        Do u think that’s enough probiotic/florastor?
        I don’t know what’s wrong with me, I have no symptoms of C.Diff (knock on wood) but I’m just totally paranoid about it.

        Did your LLMD tell u to stop abx for a month, or did u choose to do that on your own.

        also for the fish oil, what now are they saying about it? ugh! I hate all these media things!

      • 49erBry September 15, 2012 at 2:55 am #

        Yeah you don’t want to use Nystatin for too long. Plus Nystatin is not good for long term use. The pulsing is good to surprise the bugs so it seems he doesn’t want to be too aggressive. The issue is that the Clindamycin will give you the diarrhea so I would take more probiotic if I were you. You aren’t having any issues so far?

        I stopped the antibiotics on my own but I called my LLMD the next day and he recommended I do the same.

      • Lymed Out September 16, 2012 at 3:30 pm #

        I haven’t had any bathroom issues at all. KNOCK ON WOOD!!!!!!!

      • 49erBry September 17, 2012 at 12:28 am #

        That’s great! And another good reason to keep pulsing versus aggressive. With abx you can get the worst constipation or the worst diarrhea you’ve ever had. Sounds like your Lyme never gave you IBS? It gave me IBS about 15 years ago which really ruined my life before Lyme did. Pain meds also can cause either one of the bowel issues. Hope you stay “regular”. 🙂

      • 49erBry September 15, 2012 at 2:57 am #

        You will know when you gets C-Diff because you will be living on the toilet. Candida on the other hand can be sneaky. I had it on my tongue and on my body.

      • Lymed Out September 16, 2012 at 3:31 pm #

        Does your stomach hurt? I thought I had it while on zithromax but it came out negative. How do u know if it’s on your tongue… cause my tongue right now is white-ish…. is that candida. and is it possible to get rid of candida while on ABX?

      • 49erBry September 17, 2012 at 12:26 am #

        No, I have a pretty good stomach. So far out of all the abx only Zithromax made my stomach hurt for the first few days on it. When I had C-Diff my stomach would make noise and bubble a lot. Your stomach felt like it had lava in it and your butt too (lol TMI). I would have sharp pains, dull pains and uncomfortable feelings all day/night but I thought it was just my IBS I’ve had forever. When you go to the bathroom it is not your normal diarrhea it is worse and TMI lol

        As for Candida you tongue will be coated white or yellowish (thrush) and you may have tiny sores. My tongue would lose taste one day and be very sensitive with extreme taste buds the next. Jalapenos taste like water one day and the next they are hotter than normal. Your LLMD should take a Popsicle stick and check your throat/tongue each check-up.

        You may have a light white film on your tongue and not have it but if it looks really white more than likely you have oral candida (thrush). It’s nothing to worry about unless it spreads to your stomach but you need oral Nystatin to get rid of it. Most Abx we take will increase the candida. It is possible to still take abx and get rid of candida. If you have an internal (stomach/intestinal) candida outbreak you may need to slow off the abx for a while. You will know if it is internal because you will poop out cotton ball, coconut looking stuff but I haven’t had it yet.

        Oral Nystatin is pretty tasty but it has sugar in it (not sure if you are sugar free). Mine is cherry/mint flavor. You take a dropper full; swish on your tongue and in your mouth for a minute or two and swallow. Mine oral candida took about 3 weeks to start going away. My manhood candida is still there and about 98% healed after 3 months!

        Feel free to email me if you have any questions or things you don’t want to talk about online?

  4. Lymed Out September 19, 2012 at 3:47 pm #

    I KNEW THIS WOOD HAPPEN! the last 2 days have been pure HORRIBLE for me… I am not sure if I have yeast in the intestines, because now I’m 5 months into treatment and have had a set back. Nausea, feelign of fullness, cotton head, vertigo. Is it possible to herx 40 days into a treatment? UGH?

    • 49erBry September 19, 2012 at 11:42 pm #

      Since you are pulsing it is possible you surprised the bugs and killed them off so you have a toxin build up and herx. But you also get a Lyme flare which is different in each person where you get worse symptoms twice a month, once every few months…etc. It could be a herx, die-off or flare. I feel like poop everyday so I can barely notice the difference except for a migraine and exploding head. Hope you feel better. Remember to detox.

      • Lymed Out September 20, 2012 at 8:15 pm #

        Thanks… you are so well versed in this, it’s unimaginable… thanks for being there to listen to me rant! you are my encyclopedia!

      • 49erBry September 21, 2012 at 1:04 am #

        Thank you for the kind compliments. I am no expert but I do gather info from other Lymies and my doctor who is well known. I am always around if you need anything. I just sleep during the day so it takes me a while to get back. Hope today was better for you.

  5. Lymed Out September 19, 2012 at 3:47 pm #

    look at how I spelt “WOULD”! … lol

    • 49erBry September 19, 2012 at 11:43 pm #

      Lol without spell check my words look like a foreign language.

  6. Lymed Out September 19, 2012 at 3:50 pm #

    sorry when u say take coconut oil for candida, do u mean a tablespoon or something?

    • 49erBry September 19, 2012 at 11:44 pm #

      You can take a table spoon or two per day or you can use the coconut oil in soft-gel pill) form. I have both. Right now I am taking the nasty Fluco.

  7. Loose koi March 30, 2013 at 6:45 am #

    I did the oz cleanse. Now am in the hosp waiting to have my gallblader taken out. Apparently the smoothies overstimulate . My pancreatic enzymes skyrocketed. I never, ever had been in so much pain.

    • 49erBry March 30, 2013 at 11:53 pm #

      Oh no sorry to hear that. Thank you for the warning I will share your post. Hope you are doing better.

Leave a Reply

