Chronic Fatigue Syndrome (CFS) – Lack Of Posts

24 Jul

______________________________________________________________________________

 

Lack Of Posts – CFS

I knew the CFS would hit me full force again one day. Last month the fatigue started getting worse again. I have it all the time but it seems to come in flares even worse like the Lyme flares and Fibro flares. It is bad enough where lifting my arms requires a lot of work since they feel like lead weights. Chronic Fatigue Syndrome can be caused by your other illnesses or other factors.

I haven’t been able to keep up with posts or be active in the Lyme community lately since I am just too exhausted mentally to write and physically to get on the computer. I just want to lay down and watch TV and not have to think. I’m sure you all can relate.

I doesn’t seem like a lot of work to write a blog or keep up with your life’s daily journal like this blog is for me. When you have chronic Lyme disease, hypothyroidism, CFS, FMS and many other medical issues writing these blogs are like a full days plus overtime work to a healthy person. It can really drain what little I have left in my batteries.

When I was healthy I had worked 7 days a week for months and 16 hour days so I know what being exhausted felt like. This while having little to no sleep and working very physically demanding jobs. You get home and just collapse and your brain is fried from all of the thinking and engineering. I can honestly say that exhaustion when I was healthy is nothing compared to the exhaustion and fatigue I feel now. Now you don’t heal or bounce back the next day but just continue to feel that crappy everyday.

Now it is more like just being hit by a car, having the flu and then going to work a 16 hour shift down in the coal mines. That is what just one day feels like and everyday. I feel sluggish and like my body is made of stone. I know many people that have Lyme disease or fatigue that say it is not that bad yet but those who have it bad like me should be about to relate.

I cannot wait until the day I can get out of this horrible nightmare. At my last LLMD appointment I asked for meds to help me with the fatigue and cognitive issues that are getting worse such as my memory. So far they do not seem to be helping.

My insomnia and CFS do not get along at all. I still stay up until the sun rises about 6-8am. When my insomnia is worse than the CFS I will sleep maybe 30 minutes and be awake all day and night like a zombie. I can hear a mouse walking 5 houses down. When the CFS is bad nothing can wake me and I feel like I am sleeping in a coma, it is hard to open my eyes to get up to take meds and eat. It is weird to feel so exhausted and my body and mind want to sleep yet my insomnia keeps me up so late.

 

______________________________________________________________________________

For Those Who Don’t Know What CFS Is

Chronic fatigue syndrome

CFS; Fatigue – chronic; Immune dysfunction syndrome; Myalgic encephalomyelitis (ME)

Chronic fatigue syndrome refers to severe, continued tiredness that is not relieved by rest and is not directly caused by other medical conditions.

See also: Fatigue

Causes, incidence, and risk factors

The exact cause of chronic fatigue syndrome (CFS) is unknown. Some theories suggest CFS may be due to:

  • Epstein-Barr virus or human herpes virus-6 (HHV-6); however, no specific virus has been identified as the cause
  • Inflammation in the nervous system, because of a faulty immune system response

The following may also play a role in the development of CFS:

  • Your age
  • Previous illnesses
  • Stress
  • Genetics
  • Environmental factors

CFS most commonly occurs in women ages 30 to 50.

Symptoms

Symptoms of CFS are similar to those of the flu and other common viral infections, and include muscle aches, headache, and extreme fatigue. However, symptoms of CFS last for 6 months or more.

The main symptom of CFS is extreme tiredness (fatigue), which is:

  • New
  • Lasts at least 6 months
  • Not relieved by bed rest
  • Severe enough to keep you from participating in certain activities

Other symptoms include:

  • Feeling extremely tired for more than 24 hours after exercise that would normally be considered easy
  • Feeling unrefreshed after sleeping for a proper amount of time
  • Forgetfulness
  • Concentration problems
  • Confusion
  • Joint pain but no swelling or redness
  • Headaches that differ from those you have had in the past
  • Irritability
  • Mild fever (101 degrees F or less)
  • Muscle aches (myalgias)
  • Muscle weakness, all over or multiple locations, not explained by any known disorder
  • Sore throat
  • Sore lymph nodes in the neck or under the arms

______________________________________________________________________________

Leave a Reply

