Lyme And Dental Issues

20 Jun

______________________________________________________________________________

Lyme And Gingivitis?

I have been told from many in the Lyme community that Lyme disease and coinfections can cause gingivitis or what appears to be gingivitis and dental issues. Not sure how accurate this is but I have heard of a few people who lost every tooth due to Lyme. I hope that is not common?

In my case in the past few weeks I have been having cuts around my gums near my teeth. There are 2-3 cuts in total and only on the bottom gums. They just came out of nowhere and it makes it difficult to brush. The cuts do not bleed unless I brush my teeth and accidentally brush over the cut. I do not have the bad breath or swelling like gingivitis so I wonder if one of my herbals are causing this?

I do brush my teeth at least 2-3 times per day, I floss daily and I use a good mouth wash. I have never had any dental issues in the past except for a cavity or two at check-ups as a child. I have always taken acre of my teeth so this is something new for me.

I also have been having really sensitive teeth lately. Anything from lukewarm to hot and anything cold are tough to eat. I have been using sensodyne toothpaste but it says if the problem lasts more than 4 weeks to see a dentist. This has been going on for years and ever since Lyme was at its worst.

I do notice one of my fillings has a hole in it now and I can really feel the hot and cold in that tooth. I need to have that filling replaced and preferably with a non-mercury Lyme-friendly filling.

My problem is that my insurance dropped me since I have SSDI now so I have no insurance until September. I cannot afford to see a dentists or doctor or to pick up my prescriptions that have been sitting at the pharmacy for 2 months. Gotta love Lyme and all of the crap that comes with it.

______________________________________________________________________________

8 Responses to “Lyme And Dental Issues”

  1. GINI WARD November 18, 2012 at 1:36 am #

    I CSN RELATE. I AM 49 , I LOST ALL OF MY TEETH LAST YEAR. I FEEL YOUR PAIN. AND I HAVE ONLY BAND -23 THAT IS POSITIVE. IT’S ENOUGH TO DRIVE ME CRAZY. I WORE BRACES, AM A PROFESSIONAL SINGER AND HAVE TO HAVE HALF MY THYROID TAKEN OUT DUE TO A THYROID NODULE. NON CANCEROUS THANK GOODNESS. I HAVE HAD LYME SINCE I WAS 7. I WILL LEAVE YOU MY EMAIL MABE WE SOME SYMPTOME IN COMMON. I ALSO AM ON SSI. MABE I CAN HELP YOU AROUND SOME LOOP HOLES. I KNOW A FREND THAT GRADUATED FROM COLLEGE WITH A DOCTORATE IN HEALTH POLICY ANALYSIS. AND HAS STUDIED A LOT ABOUT THE NEW HEALTH CARE LAWS THAT ARE GOING ON. IF YOU CHOOSE TO EMAIL ME PLEASE PUT PRIVATELY THE LETTER L IN THE BEGGINING OF YOUR EMAIL THEN I KNOW ITS ABOUT LYME. RESPECTFULLY, GINI WARD

  2. GINI WARD November 18, 2012 at 1:36 am #

    I CSN RELATE. I AM 49 , I LOST ALL OF MY TEETH LAST YEAR. I FEEL YOUR PAIN. AND I HAVE ONLY BAND -23 THAT IS POSITIVE. IT’S ENOUGH TO DRIVE ME CRAZY. I WORE BRACES, AM A PROFESSIONAL SINGER AND HAVE TO HAVE HALF MY THYROID TAKEN OUT DUE TO A THYROID NODULE. NON CANCEROUS THANK GOODNESS. I HAVE HAD LYME SINCE I WAS 7. I WILL LEAVE YOU MY EMAIL MABE WE SOME SYMPTOME IN COMMON. I ALSO AM ON SSI. MABE I CAN HELP YOU AROUND SOME LOOP HOLES. I KNOW A FREND THAT GRADUATED FROM COLLEGE WITH A DOCTORATE IN HEALTH POLICY ANALYSIS. AND HAS STUDIED A LOT ABOUT THE NEW HEALTH CARE LAWS THAT ARE GOING ON. IF YOU CHOOSE TO EMAIL ME PLEASE PUT PRIVATELY THE LETTER L IN THE BEGGINING OF YOUR EMAIL THEN I KNOW ITS ABOUT LYME.

  3. Brian February 14, 2013 at 2:16 pm #

    Sodium Laurel Sulfate in toothpaste causes dental problems with 25% of all people. I had mouth sores all the time. I switched to BIOTENE, the only toothpaste I know that doesn’t contain sls, and I stopped having mouth sores. Try BIOTENE and see if that helps. (I also have Lyme)

    • 49erBry February 15, 2013 at 12:25 am #

      Thanks for the tip. I have changed to sensodyne for now but may switch up.

    • Rajiv December 13, 2013 at 9:44 am #

      You might also want to use the Livionex Dental Gel. It is extremely effective at removing dental plaque. This results in greatly reduced gingival inflammation and bleeding. The results of their studies can be seen at http://www.livionexdental.com/Studies_s/1818.htm

  4. Tonya Marie Cronin February 12, 2015 at 2:45 pm #

    I just went to the dentist today.. and he said I have a bad case of gingivitis. I as well take great care of my teeth, have had some taken out in the back by an oral surgeon as they were rotting and my wisdom teeth taken out too.. but I was shocked and I asked my friend and we both have lyme and she sent me here.. So now I know its Lyme that gave me gingivitis.. I brush with sensodyne and gargle with special mouthwash for gingivitis and bleeding gums. Ugh!!

    • 49er Bryan March 11, 2015 at 12:35 am #

      Might need to find a lyme friendly dentist. I use synsadyne but it doesn’t help much. I am going to one soon. Feel better.

  5. gwsevt February 12, 2015 at 4:42 pm #

    I have been dealing with Lyme for many years now too. Diagnosed about 10 years ago and according to LLMD had it for a minimum of 10 years before diagnosis. I too have had dental issues, including sensitivity to temperature, bleeding, abscess’s and cancer sore’s. I have lost most of my back teeth now and I think all of the dental work that I would otherwise need to have removed (guess that’s a plus) but the worst of it for me is that My front tooth (a couple of them actually) are simply rotting where they had been weakest (a cavity and filling in the one years ago) and I don’t have any dental insurance so simply can’t afford to have it even looked at. I’m afraid that I need so much work at this point they won’t know where to start without thousands of dollars, I’m curious what kicks in for you in Sep. that will give you some dental coverage. Maybe Gini has some info she would share too? Meanwhile I have had great success healing abscess’s, cuts, sores and other things with a few methods you might give a try. First oil pulling with coconut oil and better yet coconut oil and an essential oil blend called Thieves or Shield (depending on the company), I also use peppermint when not treating anything in particular, has helped heal pretty much any acute mouth issue as well as pain. Clove oil is great for pain directly on the area though be warned on a canker it will sting like the dickens at first but then numb the pain for a while, well worth the initial pain for me. I also started taking L-Lysine daily which seems to have stopped the canker sores all together. The couple of times I have had really bad abscess (swollen cheek and all) I have used a couple of other essential oils as well and the routine has thankfully healed the abscess without the need for a trip to see anyone or lengthy suffering, had I gotten on them sooner instead of hoping they would just get better on their own (optimistic dreamer or ostrich take your pick), well you can see where that’s going… But definitely give the oil pulling a try, I don’t know why it works so well but it really does.

Leave a Reply

