Legs Falling Asleep Daily – Paresthesia

20 Jun

 

______________________________________________________________________________

 

My Legs Fall Asleep Daily – Paresthesia

I notice if I sit on the ground (carpet), sit Indian Style or sit on the toilet each day my legs will fall asleep. This is called Paresthesia which is “a sensation of tingling, burning, pricking, or numbness of a person’s skin with no apparent long-term physical effect. It is more generally known as the feeling of “pins and needles” or of a limb “falling asleep”. The manifestation of paresthesia may be transient or chronic”.

I remember back in early 2000 while working as a broadband installer that my legs would fall asleep any time I had to sit on the ground and work with cabling and wiring. I noticed that the falling asleep got worse the sicker I got with Lyme and co’s and now it has become just part of my day. I know it can be caused by bad circulation but in my case it is caused by sitting.

I asked my LLMD about this and he says most likely my sciatic nerve is being pressed or other major nerves and they are causing this issue. He said it is nothing to worry about. I have had bad sciatic pain issue before Lyme took over my life. I used to limp around at work and from my lower back down through my butt and into my hamstring it would be in pain. I would work through the pain like it was nothing but I did get odd looks from my employees that such a young strong guy was walking funny.

So now each day when I go to the bathroom I have to sit down to go pee because it is hard to stand up and sometimes I get dizzy or pass out. I will sit and when I stand both of my legs are asleep, tingling, stinging, and make you laugh at the strange feeling like a funny bone being hit. It takes maybe up to 10 minutes to get full feeling back into my legs.

I get the paresthesia while sitting in the computer chair for too long, sitting on the ground when I play with my friends son, the toilet, sitting on the edge of my bed and in a car seat. It gets really annoying to have my legs numb and it makes it even harder to try and walk.

I do take supplements for better circulation and when I can I ride an exercise bicycle. I just wonder if Lyme and other tick-borne disease have caused this to get worse? It is just one of those other symptoms besides Lyme I have to live with.

I have herniated discs in my neck that causes this same feeling of paresthesia in both arms and my shoulders but the feeling never goes away. It is from neuropathy/radiculopathy or pinched nerves. I also get this feeling in my wrists from Carpal Tunnel. I miss having non-tingling skin. 🙂

 

______________________________________________________________________________

8 Responses to “Legs Falling Asleep Daily – Paresthesia”

  1. Lymed Out June 20, 2012 at 6:30 pm #

    Have you tried Chiro?

    • 49erBry June 21, 2012 at 12:17 am #

      Not yet, do you think they can help with this issue?

      • Lymed Out June 21, 2012 at 4:37 am #

        I’ve been going for about 8 months… I think it has helped me but my symptoms are different than yours. I just started acupuncture and he knows about my nerve damage and said acupuncture does help with muscle spasms. It is rather expensive. My chiro treatements are $35 a pop (and the adjustments are like 5minutes) but I am covered for this and the acupuncture is $40 for 15 minute ish.
        You could look into this?

  2. VirtualJen Nifer September 3, 2012 at 1:26 pm #

    I was having this same problem and started having Vitamin B-12 shots (1,000-3000 mg) and I think it helped. I stopped having them, and my foot is prickling away as I type. (From simply propping my other leg up, in bed!)

  3. Janet July 13, 2014 at 3:46 pm #

    If you get this message, email me. I have similar situation, but I have not been tested for Lyme Disease. Multiple spinal problems, though. Hard to get good answers and treatment that actually does any good. May have carpal tunnel surgery soon. Tired of constant numbness and tingling.

    • 49er Bryan July 19, 2014 at 12:23 am #

      Are you seeing a good neurologist? I found my neuro surgeon to be more helpful than my neurologist. Have you had all the MRI’s? I still have the numbness and tingling and radiopathy.

  4. Kim May 22, 2015 at 10:02 am #

    I have been ill since 2000. I ve been tested for everything. Currently I have fibromyalgia, cFS, diabetes, a massive heart attack, hypothyroid, and most recently spinal stenosis. I have had you same issues and have had multi MRI, x-rays, tests. Went to the right doctor at the right time, like rolling the dice, and was diagnosed after 15 years of pain. My symptoms were like yours but with ever increasing pain. Be sure you have spinal x-Rays of all your spine. My pain radiated down to my hips, stenosis was at C3 (very top). Good luck. You are not alone.

    • 49er Bryan May 25, 2015 at 11:48 pm #

      Thanks. Since this post I have had many MRIs, CT scans… Etc found out I had many herniated discs in my c-spine and back. I also have had spinal stenosis since I was a teen. I have cysts on my spine too. I was supposed to get surgery but my neuro surgeon said with Lyme, lupus, Fibro…etc I would heal right and he didn’t want to give me the surgery. He said not to ever have the surgery it probably will never work. So that’s good he was honest instead of going for profit. Good luck with everything .

Leave a Reply

