May Is Lyme Awareness Month – Be Extra Cautious This Year For Ticks

17 May

May Means Lyme Awareness

Today I had an hour long interview with my local newspaper. They will be publishing my story for Lyme Awareness Month. My goal was to get the word out there and make people aware of this debilitating disease. If I can reach just one person this year then I will be happy. If that person does not have to suffer and go through what myself and many others are going through I feel as if I saved a life.

I know many of you who do not have Lyme disease or who do not know much about Lyme disease see posts about Lyme Awareness. I was one of those people who had no idea what Lyme disease was and I used to take nature walks frequently. I would always find deer ticks on my clothing after a day of hiking and exploring.

It took only one small tick to bite me and change my life forever. 25 plus years later and I wish I could go back in time and tell myself to stay away from the fields and tall grass I once found fun to walk through. Myself and too many others are living in the endless nightmare and we cannot wake up from it.

This year is the perfect storm for ticks. The weather and condition are just right meaning even more ticks will be out looking for a host to attach to. Ticks carrying Lyme disease are already being found. So this year is going to be one of the worst year yet and now is the time to be prepared.

I want to get the word out there that getting Lyme disease can happen to anyone of you and any family member no matter how big or small. Not only can the ticks, mosquitoes and other critters give you Lyme disease but you can also get coinfections or tick-borne diseases. Just one coinfection such as Babesia can ruin your life. They are easier to get than you think.

The numbers are in and have shown that the cases of Lyme disease are up to 4X higher than the cases of AIDS each year. Since many people are improperly diagnosed those numbers can even be higher.Lyme disease and coinfections can be fatal.

Please be extra cautious when you go outdoors. You pets can bring the infected ticks into your home. My sister has already had 3 ticks brought in by her cat this year. In a recent study there were 8 ticks who tested positive for Lyme disease from numerous parks in the Placer are of California. Just a play date at the park with your kids may mean one of your family members could have been bitten by one of those ticks.

I don’t want to scare anyone from enjoying the outdoors and the Spring and Summer weather but just be alert and know what to do if you find a tick on you. I am too scared to go outdoors now that I know what pain, suffering and life changing events one bug has caused me. I can get bitten again and contract Lyme or even a new tick-borne infection.

Please remember that the international disease society of america (IDSA) is our enemy and do not believe anything they say.  They are the ones who have no proof that 2 weeks of antibiotics can “cure” you yet they set ridiculous guidelines for us who suffer. Thanks to their guidelines we cannot get the proper medication, health care and insurance coverage we need.

Please take time to view the information below on how to protect yourself from ticks and which ticks are carriers. Remember Mosquitoes also carry many diseases so put your spray on and stay covered up.

______________________________________________________________

Click Here – How To Protect Yourself From Ticks

Click Here – Other Infections (Coinfections) From Ticks

Click Here – Know Your Ticks

Click Here – Borrelia Facts

Click Here – Lyme Disease Handout Forms For Field Trips

Please visit LymeDisease.org for more information. This is a very useful web site and recommended and trusted in the Lyme community. You cannot trust many web sites out there since they like to cover up or lie about Lyme disease.

______________________________________________________________

http://www.lymedisease.org/

______________________________________________________________

Leave a Reply

