My Daily Symptom I Call “Stone Man” or “Rusted Tin Man”

15 May

 

I Feel As If I Have Rusted

 

This symptoms has finally calmed as I am writing this. I get these periods during the day where my entire body will seize up and I can barely move. It starts in my neck and has a heat to it and it travels down my spine and into all of my limbs. Once this hits me my hands will cramp in a fashion as if I am holding on to handle bars on a bike. My neck will hunch over and I look like a 90 year old man.

This symptom I like to call “stone man” or “rusted tin man” usually hits me in the evening and at night while watching TV. When this hits me it takes about a minute to fully take over my body. My arms can barely lift, my neck gets stiff and hard to move, I sort of look like the as if I am looking at the ground with my arms in my lap.

I have no idea if this is my Lyme, Co’s or Fibro doing this since no doctors will clarify this symptom. I take an Alieve and a couple Norco and the pain and lack of movement will subside just a little. This has been going on for 3 years now.

I thought I had Rheumatoid arthritis (RA) and it seemed to fit. As a baby I had Osteomyelitis and I lived in the hospital for months with an IV in my ankle bone (marrow). I was strapped-down into a crib and rarely saw my parents (I am told). My doctor at that time told my mother I would have many issues growing up such as RA and bone problems. This is one reason we never suspected I had Lyme and co’s.

My family also has a history of Lupus and my mom and sister both have it. I have tested negative for Lupus and RA but who knows how accurate the tests are. As a kid I used to pass out in hot showers and get the butterfly rash. I still do to this day. My legs used to lock and I could not unlock my leg from the bended position unless someone pulled it out for me with a loud “pop”. I had numerous mystery illnesses as a child and rare medical issues. I could not tell you if any were Lyme related.

I wonder sometimes if I have something else wrong with me besides the Lyme and Co’s, Fibro, Hypothyroidism…..etc. I did grow up literally yards behind a major oil refinery that leaked gas and liquids. The whole city sued the refinery and won. My family moved out of there but by that time I was living in those conditions for 12 years. Was there something in the water? I found dead fish at the creek and fish with mutations.

If anyone else suffers from this symptom please feel free to share your story with me. I would like to know if this is just part of Lyme or some other condition not diagnosed yet.

 

 

______________________________________________________________

 

 

2 Responses to “My Daily Symptom I Call “Stone Man” or “Rusted Tin Man””

  1. Katie February 6, 2016 at 3:32 pm #

    Hello, you are one of the only people I have found that also experienced this and we too, called it rusted tin man. It was crazy how it would hit all of the sudden. I have been in remission from LD and RMSF for over a year now. Thankfully, my rusted tin man syndrome started happening less and less often for me. Boy was it embarrassing when it would happen at work and I’d have to have someone drive me home or my husband carry me out of places. For me, in the beginning of my treatment it would hit and last several days (sometimes even a week) and eventually, it would only last 4 hours until it stopped happening altogether. Up until last month, I had not experienced it in a year. I went to my ND and found out I had a virus so I now interpret this rusted tin man as an extreme symptom of detox. Have you looked into genetic testing for MTHFR? If your methylation pathway is affected (I had many parts of the cycle that weren’t working properly), you will experience detox symptoms WAY worse than other people. I hope you are feeling better by now as I see this post is from 2015. Anyway, just wanted you to know that you are not alone!

    • 49er Bryan February 8, 2016 at 12:51 pm #

      Hi thanks for sharing. I’m not doing any better. I think mine is my arthritis making me that way, only my pain pills help me move easier. I took MTHFR tests 5-6 years ago and found out I had the double bad mutation. So I take 2 pills daily for life for it and I have increased risk of cancers. Hope you are doing better

Leave a Reply

