Tips For Helping With Loose Stool Or Diarrhea From Antibiotics

11 May


Tips For Helping Those Bathroom Issues From Antibiotics

Diatomaceous Earth (Food Grade)

D-Earth is a binder and can be used to clean out or scrub the intestines and colon. I take about 1-2 Tsp per day with a shot glass of water and fresh squeezed lemon juice. D-Earth can help regulate your bowel movements and help with diarrhea and constipation. Make sure you buy only food grade.

It may also help with intestinal parasites. D-Earth is very cheap and you can buy it in a bulk-sized container. You can also use any left overs to control bugs in your back yard.

The best source to buy D-Earth:

Earthworks Health

______________________________________________________________

Probiotics

Two great probiotics recommended for Lymies are VSL#3 and Florastor. I currently use both and really feel they have helped me with my IBS I’ve battled with for 15 years and they have helped with diarrhea from antibiotics. I highly recommend VSL#3 if you are having issues with watery stool or constant diarrhea.

I use the capsule, take 1-2 capsules to start and work you way up if more is needed. These are the highest count live probiotic bacteria you can find. The capsules have 225 billion live probiotic bacteria. VSL#3 also comes in packets which has an even higher live probiotic bacteria count at 450 billion.

I take 1 capsule of Florastor daily. Between the two probiotics and the D-Earth, I am feeling pretty good and having bowel movements DR. Oz would be proud of. Trust me I have tried everything for my IBS in the past 15 years and I know these probiotics have been a huge relief for me. I also had a lot of bad days with antibiotics where I spent all day in the bathroom and after doubling up on probiotics I was regular by the next day. This is just my body and everyone is different but it can’t hurt to try.

Hurry and get the $5.00 off Florastor coupon (Exp 05/19/12) and read more information about VSL#3 and Florastor on my blog HERE

______________________________________________________________

Kombucha

Last winter I started making my own batches of Kombucha since buying the bottles was getting too expensive. Above in the picture is my batches of fresh raspberry, cranberry, lemon and all had fresh ginger.

Kombucha is know for many health benefits but in this case you can use it as a digestion aid and probiotic. Kombucha is not for everyone so consult with your doctor first and make sure you can drink this tea.

I got used to the taste and I prefer the GT’s brand. They come in a wide variety of flavors and you can find them in health food stores or in Nugget Market or Whole Foods. They go on sale often and you can find them for 2 for $5.00 sometimes.

They taste like a tea with vinegar, carbonation and most have ginger. This is because you make this tea using a splash of vinegar, fresh ginger, fresh fruit and the fermentation makes it carbonated. I won’t go into the whole process of how you make it but it is very simple and any Lymie can afford to make their own.I will say that I still prefer the store brand over my own even after trying dozens of flavors.

GT’s is my favorite brand and now they have Chia Kombucha with Chia seeds in it. This gives you even more health benefits. I tried another couple of brands but they tasted like my own batch so they weren’t worth the money. And no GT’s does not pay me to advertise I just really like the flavors.

Find out more about GT’s Synergy Drinks HERE

I followed this Kombucha recipe HERE

______________________________________________________________

GT’S Brand Kombucha Tip

Black cap on the left means it may contain traces of alcohol so you will need to be 21 or older to buy. The silver cap means no traces of alcohol and any ages may buy. The alcohol is said to come from the fermentation process and alcohol is not intentionally added. I cannot even taste the alcohol and it will not get you drunk.

______________________________________________________________

Dietary Fiber

If you are having trouble with diarrhea or constipation it could also mean you are not getting enough fiber in your diet. High fiber foods will help regulate your bowel movements. You may want to eat more high fiber foods and add Metamucil or other brands. Below are some tips from Dr. Oz since I don’t know too much about this myself.

Eating high-fiber foods helps you stay fuller longer, keeps you regular, and boosts colon health. Getting enough fiber can be a challenge, but one certainly worth taking on. Get started with this list of Dr. Oz-approved high-fiber heavyweights.

Vegetables

  • Artichokes, 10g of fiber 
  • Broccoli, 5g of fiber per cup
  • Brussel sprouts, 4 grams of fiber per cup

High-Fiber Food Facts: Artichokes are number 7 on the USDA’s list of antioxidant-rich foods. They also increase the bile flow in the liver, which helps with the digestion of high-fat meals, and may lower cholesterol.

Grains

  • Bulgur, 8g of fiber per cup
  • Quinoa, 5g of fiber per cup
  • Brown rice, 4g of fiber per cup

High-Fiber Food Facts: Bulgur is cracked wheat and a staple of the Mediterranean diet. It’s a good vegetarian source of protein. It may help reduce the risk of heart disease and is the perfect addition to a low glycemic index diet.

Beans

  • Navy beans, 19g of fiber per cup 
  • Garbanzo beans, 13g of fiber per cup
  • Kidney beans, 13g of fiber per cup

High-Fiber Food Facts: Navy beans are high in magnesium, which lowers your blood pressure. Also, navy beans are an excellent source of folic acid; one serving will give you almost 2/3 of your daily value.


Additional High-Fiber Foods

Fruits and Nuts 

  • Figs, 14 g of fiber per cup 
  • Prunes, 12g of fiber per cup
  • Pear, 5g of fiber
  • Almonds, 4g of fiber per cup

High-Fiber Food Facts: Figs are high in antioxidants and traditionally used to treat constipation.

(From Dr. Oz – High Fiber Foods)

______________________________________________________________

*I am not a doctor just a fellow Lyme sufferer so consult with your doctor before you try any of these tips. Most of these tips came from my well-known LLMD and I am passing these tips on to you.

______________________________________________________________

2 Responses to “Tips For Helping With Loose Stool Or Diarrhea From Antibiotics”

  1. Lymed Out May 11, 2012 at 8:15 am #

    awesome post! lol I just did my Kombucha post yesterday… I need to start brewing more I’m sure I’ll drink mine all and then need to wait 21 days for the next batch.

    • 49erBry May 12, 2012 at 12:32 am #

      Yep. You may want to wait longer than 21 days if you like a vinegar taste and shorter for a sweeter taste. My batch made about 9 bottles at a time but I only used one large glass ice tea thingy. Hope you like it. I used a few different Kombucha how to’s since some did their batch wrong. No metal spoons.

Leave a Reply

