Rocephin (Ceftriaxone) IV Can Cause Gallbladder Issues

16 Apr

Rocephin (Ceftriaxone) IV & Your Gallbladder

I don’t know how many times I have heard from a friend who was on or is still using Rocephin via IV that their gallbladder was either removed or had issues. I believe all doctors are aware of this problem yet some fail to disclose or relay the information to their patients. Lyme patients who were given the info may not now just how serious the problem is.There is a high risk that you will have some gallbladder problems and you may lose your gallbladder.

Your doctor most likely will give you Actigall to take with your Rocephin IV but the Actigall also has side-effects itself (see below). If you do not take the recommended dosage of Actigall you risk having gallbladder problems and possibly having you gallbladder removed.

Just from my own personal study of friends I would say at least 80% of the people I have talked to have had the issues. It’s about 50/50 on gall stones, problems versus those who had their gallbladder removed.

This is nothing new and for the most part many Lymies already know this but I thought I would send out a caution to those who do not know. If you read the labels and caution signs on Rocephin it clearly states “do not take if you have gallbladder disease” or “may cause gallbladder problems” on some web sites.

Rocephin Injections

I did want to add that the Rocephin  injections should not cause the gallbladder issues. I did the Rocephin self-injections for 2 months and I was fine. However I did have other issues such as; Injecting in my thigh made my whole thigh muscle spasm violently. I had twitches and jerking in my thigh throughout the night like aftershocks. The injections in my buttocks and in my thigh would travel straight to my bad knees and make them start hurting even worse. I also still have lumps in my buttocks. The injections are not as painful as Bicillin since the needles are much smaller.

Tip: If you do not use Lidocaine and use the saline to mix your Rocephin vial with then yes it is one of the most painful injections you can get. I gave myself one injection with Rocephin and saline and instantly my buttocks and leg began to burn like crazy and the arthritis in my knee was inflamed. Talk about extra unwanted severe pain, ouch!

 

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Gallbladder Problem Symptoms

Gall bladder problems can cause symptoms that include:

  • Nausea and vomiting
  • Indigestion
  • Intolerance to fatty foods
  • Abdominal bloating
  • Pain in the right upper and central upper abdomen
  • Referred pain may radiate to the back and the right shoulder

**(Remember these are just some of the symptoms)

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Actigall Side Effects

Side effects from actigall/ursodiol can occur. Tell your doctor if any of these symptoms are severe or do not go away:

  • diarrhea
  • constipation
  • upset stomach
  • indigestion
  • dizziness
  • vomiting
  • cough
  • sore throat
  • runny nose
  • back pain
  • muscle and joint pain
  • hair loss

If you experience any of the following symptoms, call your doctor immediately:

  • frequent urination or pain when you urinate
  • cough with fever

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

8 Responses to “Rocephin (Ceftriaxone) IV Can Cause Gallbladder Issues”

  1. tina April 16, 2012 at 4:28 am #

    while i was on rocephin my doctor had me take 500 mg of malic acid 2x per day. she was very clear on telling me i must protect my gallbladder and that the malic acid would. i am now off rocephin and both me and my gallbladder are doing well.
    thank you for continuing to post the excellent information.

    • 49erBry April 16, 2012 at 4:34 am #

      Thank you for the feedback. Chalk one down for a healthy gallbladder. I’m happy it worked out for you.

  2. Bob Smith July 21, 2013 at 9:44 am #

    I have been on IV rocephin for 2 months for lyme disease. I had an extremely painful event in upper right quadrant of stomach and had to take an ambulance to ER because it was too painful to drive. They found out I had gall stones. My lyme doctor never mentioned this as a possible side effect nor did he prescribe me a drug to prevent gall bladder problems. Thank you for this information since my doctor was obviously not competant to notify me of this!

    • 49erBry August 9, 2013 at 11:44 pm #

      Sorry to hear that. I wish more doctors would remember to give actigall or other gall meds with the IV rocephin. Hope you are doing better.

  3. Justin December 21, 2013 at 6:43 pm #

    Was on rocephin for 5 months. 2 grams a day. Last month on rocephin pain upper right side. Ultrasound and CAT scan showed 4 calcified stone 8mm. Endoscopy/eus didnt see any. Not sure if i had these stones before rocephin or not. Im 34. Was also taking Actigall twice a day whole time on rocephin..
    Bilirubin calcified stones can form from to much bacteria also so maybe lyme / bartonella had something to do with.

    • 49erBry December 21, 2013 at 11:18 pm #

      It’s funny how many lymies came forward after this blog post and my post on instagram…etc to tell me they lost their gallbladder due to rocephin IV. Many were never told about the actigall. Wish these doctors would be more careful. It could be from something else in your case but I bet the rocephin was a big help. I had a kidney stone but I was just told to stop drinking caffeine. Hope you can get rid of the stones if they are too much trouble and good luck with everything.

  4. Cari July 16, 2015 at 5:26 pm #

    3 weeks IV rocephin, gallbladder removed. Quit IV therapy it also started shutting my kidneys down and my liver enzymes went sky high.

  5. vivbomb@aol.com November 2, 2016 at 7:21 pm #

    I am getting gall bladder attacks from this and I am very young. I am so depressed I need surgery. Bc of lyme the 3 surgeries I have had I have had significant (usually 3x slower) recovery time. Not to mention the increased risk of poor digestion, fat soluble vitamin absorbing, and other diseases from having no gallbladder. I’m so so upset sites like this did not come up when I researched IV ceftriaxone. I read a lot on it and no where it was mentioned. Only now after googling “gallstones and ceftriaxone” am I now seeing this.

Leave a Reply

