Do Not Take CoQ10 While Treating With Mepron or Malarone (Atovaquone)

9 Apr

Why Can’t I take CoQ10 With Mepron or Malrone?

Many people such as myself wonder why we have to stop CoQ10 while on Mepron and Malarone. I thought maybe it could cause side effects or cause a reaction when I first heard of this. I noticed a few people who still take CoQ10 while on Mepron (yellow paint). I never had an answer until a recent visit to my doctor.

From what I am told by my LLMD:

Mepron, Malarone (Atovaquone) deplete the body of natural CoQ10 that the body produces daily. By depleting the CoQ10 this helps to kill off the Babesia (co’s). At the same time due to the lack of CoQ10 there is some risk of becoming even more depressed, suicidal and having weird thoughts…etc. That is why there is a suicide warning with the meds and most doctors will tell you to stay away from anything that can harm you. So if you are taking CoQ10 while on Mepron or Malarone you are defeating the purpose of the meds because you are adding CoQ10 back into the body that the meds are trying to get rid of.

I am also told that a Lyme patient should be on Zithromax (Azithromycin) while on Mepron but it is not necessary on Malarone.

What is Mepron?

Mepron is a yellow thick suspension (liquid) and one way to take Atovaquone. It tastes like lemon and has a numbing sensation like a cough syrup.

What is Malarone?

Malarone is a pill form of Atovaquone. Mepron and Malarone are both Antimalarial medications.

Depression and Suicide while on Mepron and Malarone

It is common to feel depressed, suicidal and wanting to harm yourself while on these meds. You can have nightmares and strange thoughts. It may not be you but just the meds making you feel this way. It may be wise to ask your doctor to stop Mepron or Malarone if you are on it for months. While taking a break you should add CoQ10 back into the body by taking about 400mg of CoQ10 twice a day with food for 1-2 weeks. This should help bring your CoQ10 levels backup and help with some of the depression and suicidal thoughts.

Note

I am not a doctor just a patient so please ask your doctor about anything discussed here. I am taking Mepron and Malarone and I just finished a 2 week break and building my CoQ10 back up.

4 Responses to “Do Not Take CoQ10 While Treating With Mepron or Malarone (Atovaquone)”

  1. Rob July 25, 2012 at 10:53 am #

    I notice when taking CoQ10 for several days my Babesia hot sweats come back. I agree don’t take it unless you need to for a day or two.

    • 49erBry July 29, 2012 at 1:32 am #

      Thanks for the feedback. Some doctors are iffy if this is true but my doctor seems to think it is.

  2. Heather March 18, 2015 at 2:44 pm #

    I wasn’t told to stop coq10 w mepron. I read online not to, so I asked and was told just not to take them at the same time. So I take them the same day but spaced out. Thoughts?

    • 49er Bryan March 19, 2015 at 12:12 am #

      It was so long ago that I did the Mepron and with memory loss I am not 100% sure but….. Either the Mepron interacts with the CoQ10 and doesn’t allow it the Mepron to absorb properly or I think it is just a waste to take CoQ10 with the Mepron since it will make the supplement ineffective. If you take Mepron twice a day then you may want to just hold off on taking CoQ10 for now (since it is probably not doing what is is supposed to do). And make sure you are getting all the fats you need for it to absorb, i ate fresh guacamole, almonds or peanut butter. You will be okay if you take them both but they just interact with each other and one will be useless or less effective from what I remember. If you only take Mepron once a day I think spacing it out will be fine, one early morning one at night.

Leave a Reply

