Simple Spicy Ginger Soup – For Nausea & Other Symptoms

9 Apr

 

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Simple Spicy Ginger Soup

I have been having bad nausea lately and I was told my LLMD to eat and drink fresh ginger. I love ginger and I know about all of its health benefits so I had no problem with this request. I didn’t really feel like drinking spicy tea so I decided to cook an easy to make soup. This soup can be customized to your own taste buds but in the end should have the same healing properties. Remember to use only fresh ginger since it will help more than the powder but you can use powdered ginger.

 

(Update)

I recently tried this same recipe and added rice to the soup and left out the snow peas and bean sprouts. It was nice and warm and gentle on the stomach.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

My Soup Recipe

¼ – ½ Cup of Fresh Ginger (peeled and diced)

2 Small Carrots (peeled and diced)

2 Celery Stalks (peeled and diced)

1-2 Garlic Cloves (minced or crushed)

½ Cup of Snow Peas (diced)

¼ Cup Green Onions (diced)

¼ cup Bean Sprouts

¼ Cup Celery Leaves (top of celery stalk)

1 Can Chicken Broth

½ Cup Water

½ Tsp Chinese 5 Spice

½ Tsp Parsley

½ Tsp Tarragon

Salt & Pepper

Drizzle of Olive Oil

How to prepare the soup:

I started by adding the water to a 2 qt soup pot and bring the water to a boil. I added in the diced carrots first and let them cook for a few minutes. Then I added in the diced snow peas and celery to the pot and let them cook for 5 minutes or until tender. I then added the chicken broth, garlic and ginger to the pot and turned the heat down to low/medium. I then added in the herbs and spices; Chinese 5 spice, salt, pepper, tarragon, and parsley. I let the pot simmer for 5-10 minutes and then added in the bean sprouts, celery leaves, green onion and drizzled some olive oil in. I turned off the heat and let the pot rest for 5 minutes. Then I served myself up the warm soup.

Note:

Start with the ingredients that are harder such as the carrots that take longer to cook first then add in the softer ingredients such as green onion last so they don’t turn to mush. I like my veggies with a snap to them so you can cook your soup longer or shorter depending on your preference. You can add a dash of cayenne pepper or turmeric for more healing properties with this soup. Use any veggies, herbs and spices you like but just make sure you put a lot of ginger in this soup. The spicier the ginger taste the better it will help with nausea.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Ginger

Health Benefits of Ginger

Ginger is featured a lot on shows such as the Dr. Oz. Here is a video of Dr. Oz talking about “curing yourself with ginger” CLICK ME. Ginger can be used to help with Nausea, Vomiting, Gastrointestinal Relief, Anti-Inflammatory Effects, Protection against Colorectal Cancer, Ginger Induces Cell Death in Ovarian Cancer Cells, Immune Boosting Action and much more. As someone with little to no immune system I add fresh ginger to a lot of things. I highly recommend ginger if you have Lyme disease and co’s.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Reply to this posting from a fan of ginger:

“great recipe! thank you. i think ginger is a gift from god and almost a cure all. i put bags of powdered ginger in my detox baths along with a load of baking soda. it makes me feel wonderful. after the bath i continue to sweat. the ginger really heats me up. it feels like a big boost to my immune system along with cleaning me up inside!”

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

*Please forgive me for any errors or incorrect statements since I do have many cognitive issues. I have copied some of the benefits found on other web sites. Remember to make the soup to your taste, if you do not like my soup try to make something appealing to you. Enjoy! 🙂

2 Responses to “Simple Spicy Ginger Soup – For Nausea & Other Symptoms”

  1. food, health and happiness April 9, 2012 at 1:44 pm #

    great recipe! thank you. i think ginger is a gift from god and almost a cure all. i put bags of powdered ginger in my detox baths along with a load of baking soda. it makes me feel wonderful. after the bath i co tine to sweat. the ginger really heats me up. it feels like a big boost to my immune system along with cleaning me up inside!

    • 49erBry April 9, 2012 at 11:45 pm #

      Thank you. It may not be for everyone but I liked it. This is more of a sipping soup to help with symptoms. Thanks for the tips. I will add them in to the blog post.

Leave a Reply

