MRI Results and POTS – Caused by Lyme?

7 Mar

 

MRI Results

After having those 2 weeks of extreme pain, lost feeling in both arms, numbness, tingling  and burnt skin sensation I took a visit to the ER on day 8. The nurse at the ER was the only person I have met besides an LLMD who knew what Lyme disease is and he sympathized with me. Felt good to have someone who was understanding. The nurse gave me an IV of saline and Hydromorphone (Dilaudid) which did help relieve some pain. They referred me to an imaging center where I had yet another head/neck MRI.

I visited my horrible family doctor who shared the news that my MRI showed 2 bulging discs in C7 and C5 and spinal stenosis in a heart-shape in C6-C5. The bulging disc looks more like a herniated or ruptured disc to me. My doctor is not the best and she is no neuro. She has referred me to a new Neurologist. I cannot see my old Neurologist since I lost my insurance, he knows all about my stenosis.

I was asked by nurses in the ER and by the doctor if I have had a traumatic injury recently since that is the normal cause of bulging discs. I told her I literally haven’t left the house in almost 3 years and she looked puzzled. I am told by doctors and friends in support groups that Lyme disease can cause ruptures/bulging/herniated discs. Since my Lyme is 30 years old and late stage I am willing to bet the spirochetes are in my spinal fluid and doing this damage.

POTS (Postural orthostatic tachycardia syndrome)

I hear from many that POTS is common with Lyme disease. I was diagnosed by my LLMD with POTS. POTS is short for Postural orthostatic tachycardia syndrome. I have been fainting a lot lately, maybe 3 times a day. I will stand up to walk to the kitchen and I see stars and my chest is heavy and then boom I see black. I have learned to walk near the counter tops and stay away from hard surfaces if possible. My feet turn purple/dark red in the shower.

My heart has been racing and my oxygen levels in my blood are not really “normal”. I own a Pulse Ox (Pulse oximetry) which is a non-invasive method allowing the monitoring of the oxygenation of a patient’s hemoglobin. There is a finger attachment that can read your level from your finger tip.

SpO2%

Normal range for the SpO2% are 94 – 100 percent. Normally, patients will have SpO2 levels between 96 and 99 percent. Levels below 90 percent can indicate signs of acute respiratory failure or hypoxia.

  • My Sp02% is 88-92 percent most days and sometimes at night.

PRbpm

The typical resting heart rate in adults is 60-80 bpm, with rates below 60 bpm referred to as bradycardia (slow), and rates above 100 bpm referred to as tachycardia (rapid).

  • My PRbpm is 58-135 (sitting down and resting, since I am always resting). That means I hit both slow and rapid.

This may sound normal but my bpm will be at 58-80 bpm resting and when I stand up it hits the 130 bpm range (tachycardia). This increase in bpm can cause me to pass out (faint), see floating stars in black or bright orange colors, feel tingly, feel out of body experiences while sitting, pins and needles, air hunger, chest tightening and chest pounding to name some symptoms.

At the doctors office 2 days ago I asked the horrible doctor to check my heart for me. I already know I have POTS and I thought she would understand. So they checked my blood pressure with the typical arm band and it came back at 145/110. Normal is around 120/80. I am always normal and I diet and do not eat a lot of salt for the past 3 years. Why the change? So the nurse brought in an EKG. They hooked me to all the doo-dads and took some readings while I had the arm band on. My blood pressure was showing  100/79 while laying down. I was asked to sit up and it spiked to 165/125.

Then my doctor tells me I am completely normal. She said my oxygen spiked but that is normal to lose oxygen down to 88 and my heart rate was normal at 165/125. What the heck! So she told me I do not have POTS. Well I believe my other doctor who I trust and see every 2 months more then I believe a free clinic doctor who does not know my history and all of my illnesses.

 

*I am not a doctor and I read facts from various web sites so some information can be wrong. Plus with the cognitive issues I may have mixed up some things.

 

3 Responses to “MRI Results and POTS – Caused by Lyme?”

  1. mpswest June 12, 2013 at 8:51 pm #

    Thank you for sharing your story. It sounds all to familiar!!

  2. jwr July 1, 2015 at 7:42 am #

    I have been slowly reading through your blog, I am a fibro sufferer with pots as well, and a lot of the lyme symptoms I can identify with which makes wonder if it’s all down to lyme.
    The determination you show to keep going is an inspiration, and grief you suffer from the abx which is supposed to be helping I find amazing.
    Keep posting great site, and I wish you well.

    • 49er Bryan July 12, 2015 at 1:53 am #

      Thank you, find a good Lyme doctor and if you get the right testing you may find some answers. I know it took me a long time and waiting. Good luck

Leave a Reply

