8 Ticks test positive for Lyme Disease in Placer County, CA

26 Jan

“ROSEVILLE, Calif., – Eight tick samples in Placer County have tested positive for the Lyme disease organism in the past two weeks.  This announcement comes on the heels of a tick advisory issued by the California Department of Public Health last week.” – via www.rocklintoday.com

Read more about it here   or   Read more here

*Please check for ticks whenever you go out in parks, on a hike, camping…etc.

4 Responses to “8 Ticks test positive for Lyme Disease in Placer County, CA”

  1. Rico February 1, 2012 at 5:30 pm #

    You have links to both CALDA and the American Lyme Disease Foundation. These two organizations are at complete odds with each other. The American Lyme Disease Foundation includes Gary Wormser and Eugene Shapiro, two of the most vocal chronic Lyme deniers out there. They believe that doctors who prescribe antibiotics longer than the recommend 2-4 weeks are performing malpractice, and that patients who are still sick after such treatment are cured, but have “Post Lyme Treatment Syndrome”, where the immune system is running amok causing the same symptoms that the Lyme bacteria caused. Are you sure this is the organization you want to link to?
    P.S. I believe I’m going to the same LLMD that you see. I’m so thrilled that his philosophy is to treat me until I’m well. Best wishes for your treatment! I’m also on Bicillin LA and B12 shots. I’ll look for updates from you on how you like the port.

    • sliccc1 February 1, 2012 at 5:44 pm #

      Thanks for letting me know. I’m having bad cognitive issues so most of my posts are copy and paste. I not sure where that link is? Can you point me to the spot and will delete it? Thank you and best wishes with your Bicillin. PS IDSA sucks!

  2. Rico March 26, 2012 at 9:47 pm #

    The link for the American Lyme Disease Foundation is directly to the right of my earlier comment. You might want to replace it with a link to ILADS or the Lyme Disease Association.

    I’m doing much better! I hope you are, too! I think it’s quite impressive that you can keep up a web site when you have cognitive issues! Mine are declining, but I still forget things sometimes.

    • sliccc1 March 26, 2012 at 11:13 pm #

      Oh, thank you very much. I deleted it. I forgot those links were there. I added them a long time ago without really thinking. I appreciate you looking out for me. I added some new links.

      Thanks, the cognitive issues are still bad but when my pain meds kick in I usually have a 2 hour window where I can get on the computer and add to the blog or chat with friends. Nothing seems to help the cognitive issues for me yet. Hope you find some relief soon.

Leave a Reply

