New Treatment – More Injections & Possible IV

25 Jan

*Update

You may not want to inject Rocephin into your thigh or upper quadrant (buttocks) unless you use some lidocaine to mix with the powder. At the doctors office they used 2% to mix it with and it stung for a second. You can use 1% lidocaine. I was given sodium chloride and no lidocaine so I said “what the heck i’ll try it”. I stab the needle into my thigh and as soon as the first drip came out it burned like crazy. I ended up shooting the rest in my butt but it hurt for 3 hours. It’s a burning and paralyzing pain. I won’t do that again. I’m usually tolerant to pain and I may just be sensitive but Ouch!

 

After a visit with my LLMD on Monday, we discussed getting a port (portacath) in my chest. It is inserted under the skin to allow Intravenous therapy (IV) antibiotics to be absorbed and at a higher percentage than oral antibiotics. I was also given the option of a peripherally inserted central catheter or PICC Line as most Lymies know it.  It’s basically a tube running from an artery in your arm all the way to your heart to allow for IV meds to be absorbed. They are very high maintenance. I like my showers so both options do not sound good to me.

For now we decided to stay on oral antibiotics and start a new injection of Rocephin 5 days per week. The needles for Rocephin are only 23 ga versus the 18 ga needle for Bicillin. The 23 ga is shorter and not as thick. I will also be using the intramuscular injection method in my thigh instead of the upper quadrant (upper butt). My adrenal test results came back that I was very high and all over the place so I will start taking Seriphos to lower my cortisol levels at night and help with insomnia.

So here is my new treatment along with meds and supplements I already have been taking for at least 6 months.

New Treatment:

Ceftriaxone (Rocephin) – 2grams Injection 5 days per week

Augmentin 875 (Amoxicillin) – 1 pill twice a day (2 total)

Alinia 500mg – 1 pill twice a day (2 total)

Malarone 250/100 – 2 pills twice a day (4 total)

Septra DS – 1 pill twice a day (2 total)

Seriphos – 2 pills at night

Levoxyl – 1 pill a day

Medication and supplements I already take: Spiro, Vit D3, Cal/Mag/Zinc, Devil’s Claw, Cat’s Claw, Fibro Essentials, Chanca Piedra, Sleep Essentials, Vit C, Vit A,E & Selenium, Mega Red Krill Oil, Acai Berry, Goji Berry, Niacin, Adrenal Essence, Artic Root, Milk Thistle, Milk Thistle/Yellow Dock/Dandelion, Saw Palmetto, Natural Vit E, Resveratrol 50, Grapeseed/Green Tea/ Pine Bark, L-Aginine, Artemisinin, D-Limonene, Tart Cherry Extract, Full Spectrum Ginger & Turmeric, Chlorella, CoQ10, Oregano Oil, Full Spectrum Olive Leaf, Pau D’ Arco, Norco, Flexeril, Xanax, VSL#3 Probiotic, Florastor, Crypto-Plus…

*CoQ10 (stopped taking while on Malarone)

Leave a Reply

