Bicillin Injections = No Fun!

7 Dec

(Yep that is an 18ga (gauge) needle.)

After injecting, I had my first intramuscular hematoma. I had a nice knot on the right side of my buttocks where I injected. It made it real fun when I sat down or walked. This was one of my bloodier injections. I started seeing stars this time also so I don’t know if it was my POTS or the shot? Sorry for the graphic photo but I want this journal/blog to be 100% real life.

4 Responses to “Bicillin Injections = No Fun!”

  1. Lori Anderson June 30, 2014 at 2:51 pm #

    My Dr just gave me one using a 22gauge needle. She took a really long time injecting because she said you can tear a muscle if you go too fast. Also said to ice the area first, or use lidocaine cream if you have it. Hope that helps!

    • 49er Bryan July 1, 2014 at 12:00 am #

      Thank you. I no longer take any injections or lyme meds like antibiotics because it i too late for my case.

  2. Otis Sito June 6, 2017 at 4:58 pm #

    That’s a 21g needle

    • 49er Bryan June 7, 2017 at 1:29 am #

      This was I believe the 21 gauge after I talked my insurance into covering them but my originals were 18 gauge I just posted the wrong pics back then but this was years ago. The 18 gauge were huge and helped get the bicillin out faster but also did a number on my upper quad.

Leave a Reply

