Herxing….

18 Jul

 

After a battle with the insurance company and other paperwork I finally started my latest treatment last month. One month in on Mepron/ Rifampin/ Artemisinin/ Zithromax and I have been herxing for at least 2 weeks straight.  I would compare my herx reaction to when I was in the hospital and nearly died from pneumonia. The pain and herx level is different with each person. I am feeling like I am near death so I cannot write much. I hope to be better and writing more soon….

 

What is Herxing?

The Herxheimer reaction occurs when large quantities of toxins are released into the body as bacteria (typically spirochetes) die during antibiotic treatment.

Typically the death of these bacteria and the associated release of endotoxins occurs faster than the body can remove the toxins. It is manifested by fever, chills, headache, myalgia (muscle pain), and exacerbation of skin lesions. The intensity of the reaction reflects the intensity of inflammation present.

Leave a Reply

