Lyme Hobbies – Facebook and Social Gaming

14 Mar

Zynga Games

Before Fibromyalgia and Lyme I used to do a lot of reading. Over time I found it hard to hold up a book and very hard to remember what I had just read. Sentences were getting jumbled and my back hurt from leaning over to read the book. I needed some other hobby to take my mind off of the pain and keep me occupied for a few hours. I turned to social gaming.

I find playing Zynga games on Facebook very relaxing and it takes my mind off of the pain. There are many free games on Facebook to choose from besides Zynga but their games seem to be easy and fun. My mind isn’t the sharpest lately and the games are so easy that you just point and click and the more friends you have the better off you are. I play Farmville, Cityville, Treasure Isle and Cafe World to name a few.

Facebook

Believe or not Facebook is also another way to pass my time. I have found many support groups for Lyme and Fibromyalgia. There are a fair share of negative people on the groups but there are also some great people suffering just like you an I who just need some friends that can relate. I have made a bunch of new friends from all over the world now and we are there to support one another. Suffering from Lyme and FMS is not something you want to do alone.

If you are not familiar with Facebook groups or pages just go up to the search bar and type in “Lyme disease”. From there you will see a drop down pane with many different types of groups to choose from. There medical centers, support groups, non-profit and awareness groups you can like or become a friend of. Once in the group you can read what others are talking about or post what is on your mind. If you feel you connect with someone in that group add them as a friend and who knows they may be your best friend one day.

These are just some tips that help me get by and I hope they help you as well.

Leave a Reply

